Head of School

Head of School:  Prof. Steve McLaughlinS.McLaughlin@hw.ac.uk

Deputy Head of School:  Prof. Duncan Hand — D.P.Hand@hw.ac.uk

School Directors

Director of Research:  Prof Nicholas Leslie — n.r.leslie@hw.ac.uk

Director of Learning and Teaching: Dr Gillian Thomson — G.B.Thomson@hw.ac.uk

Deputy Director of Learning and Teaching (Internation Dr Jim Cameron — J.H.Cameron@hw.ac.uk

Director of Administration & School Registrar: Derek Penman — Derek.Penman@hw.ac.uk

Heads of Research Institutes

Institute of Chemical Sciences: Prof. Martin Patersonm.j.paterson@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Biological Chemistry, Biophysics and Bioengineering:  Prof. Vicky Stone — v.stone@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Sensors Signals and Systems: Prof. George Goussetis —  g.goussetis@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Mechanical, Process and Energy Engineering: Prof. Bob ReubenR.L.Reuben@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Photonics and Quantum Sciences: Prof. Patrik Öhberg — P.Ohberg@hw.ac.uk

Heads of Academic Disciplines

Chemistry: Dr Valeria ArrighiV.Arrighi@hw.ac.uk

Chemical Engineering: Dr Gregor Colville — G.Colville@hw.ac.uk

Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering: Dr Mathini SellathuraiM.Sellathurai@hw.ac.uk

Mechanical Engineering: Dr Stephen HoustonS.D.Houston@hw.ac.uk

Physics: Dr Paul Dalgarno  — P.A.Dalgarno@hw.ac.uk

Combined Studies: Dr. Alex BellA.Bell@hw.ac.uk

Business Development Enquiries

Telephone: +44 (0) 131 451 3750

Dr Iain McEwan - I.McEwan@hw.ac.uk

EPS Student Support Office

For all undergraduate enquiries, please contact the EPS Student Support Office in JN1.07.

Telephone: +44 (0) 131 451 4100 Office: JN1.07, James Naysmith Building Email: enquiries@eps.hw.ac.uk

General Enquiries

For general enquiries, please contact the School of Engineering & Physical Sciences.

Telephone: +44 (0) 131 451 4100 Email: enquiries@eps.hw.ac.uk

If you know the name of the person you would like to contact, you can search for their contact details using the Heriot-Watt People Finder.

Postgraduate Research:

Head of Graduate School: Dr Euan Brown - euan.r.brown@hw.ac.uk

If you are interested in undertaking a 'PhD Degree by Research' then here are the research coordinators for our various subjects:-

There is more information about how to obtain a PhD by research.