Athena SWAN

The Athena SWAN Charter recognises commitment to advancing women's careers in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment in higher education. The Charter was launched in June 2005 and has three levels of award, Bronze, Silver and Gold. Heriot-Watt University was a founding member of the Charter and in 2013 was awarded Bronze.

The EPS Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team (SAT) comprises representatives from across the School and its principal responsibility will be to guide the School in its preparation and submission of future Athena SWAN Award applications.

The SAT will discuss, implement, promote and monitor School-level objectives and strategies aimed, primarily, at improving the working environment for women academics. The SAT will carry out its responsibilities via subgroups as appropriate and it reports directly to the School’s Management Group.

Find out more about our achievements to date.

Prof. Bob Reuben, Head of Institute IMPEE is leading our SAT with membership as follows:

Helen Bridle IB3, Fellow
Krystena Callaghan Laboratory manager & EPS Health and Safety Officer
Loraine Cameron EPS HR Officer
Lydia Campbell Associate Professor, IMPEE
Tina Donnelly HWU Athena Swan Project Manager
Maureen Franks Institute Secretary, IB3
Maciej Gutowski Professor, ICS
Nicola Howarth Associate Professor, IB3
Ruaraidh McIntosh Associate Professor, ICS
Xianwen Kong Assistant Professor, IMPEE
Yeaw-Chu Lee Assistant Professor, IMPEE
Stephen Mansell Assistant Professor, ICS
Ferry Melchels Associate Professor, IB3
Farnaz Mohsenpour Assistant Professor, T&S
Raffaella Ocone Professor, IMPEE
Patrik Ohberg Professor, IPaQS
Ali Ozel Assistant Professor, IMPEE
Valentin Robu Associate Professor, IMPEE
Georgina Rosair Experimental Officer, ICS
Carolina Mateo-Segura Assistant Professor, ISSS
Kasia Sulima CDT Programme Manager

Key information

Prof Patrik Öhberg

Prof Helinor Johnston