Who to contact

If you know the name of the person you would like to contact, you can search for their contact details using the Heriot-Watt People Finder. For general enquiries to the university see the main Heriot-Watt contact us page.

Engineering and Physical Sciences
Executive Dean

Executive Dean:  Prof. Igor Guz — i.guz@hw.ac.uk

Deputy Executive Dean:  Professor Vicki Stone — V.Stone@hw.ac.uk

School Directors

Director of Research:  Prof. Nicholas Leslie — n.r.leslie@hw.ac.uk

Director of Learning and Teaching:  Prof. Paul Dalgarno — p.a.dalgarno@hw.ac.uk

Director of Academic Quality: Prof. Mehdi Nazarinia — m.nazarinia@hw.ac.uk

Head of Operations: Claire Porter — c.porter@hw.ac.uk

Heads of Research Institutes

Institute of Chemical Sciences: Prof. Martin Patersonm.j.paterson@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Biological Chemistry, Biophysics and Bioengineering:  Professor Nik Willoughby, N.A.Willoughby@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Sensors Signals and Systems: Prof. George Goussetis —  g.goussetis@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Mechanical, Process and Energy Engineering: Prof. Tadhg O'Donovan  — T.S.O'Donovan@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Photonics and Quantum Sciences: Prof. Patrik Öhberg — P.Ohberg@hw.ac.uk

Heads of Academic Disciplines
(Senior Programme Directors)

Chemistry: Dr Arno Kraft — A.Kraft@hw.ac.uk

Chemical Engineering: Dr Farnaz Mohsenpour — S.Mohsenpour@hw.ac.uk

Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering: Dr Matt Dunnigan — M.W.Dunnigan@hw.ac.uk

Mechanical Engineering: Dr Rehan Ahmed — R.Ahmed@hw.ac.uk

Physics: Dr Graeme Whyte — g.whyte@hw.ac.uk

Brewing & Distilling: Prof. Dawn Maskell  — D.L.Maskell@hw.ac.uk

EPS Combined Studies: Dr Euan BrownEuan.R.Brown@hw.ac.uk

Postgraduate Teaching

Director of Postgraduate Taught Programmes:   Dr Fadi Gaith F.Ghaith@hw.ac.uk

Deputy Director of Postgraduate Taught Programmes: Dr Calum HolmesC.Holmes@hw.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research

Director of Postgraduate Research in EPS:   Prof. Scott Dalgarno

If you are interested in undertaking a 'PhD Degree by Research' then here are the research coordinators for our various subjects:

Institute of Chemical Sciences: 
Dr Filipe Vilela — f.vilela@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Biological Chemistry, Biophysics and Bioengineering: 
Dr Anitha Devadoss - A.Devadoss@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Sensors, Signals and Systems:
Dr Fernando Auat - F.Auat@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Mechanical, Process and Energy Engineering: 
Dr Michael Crichton and Adam Stock - pgr.impee@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Photonics and Quantum Sciences:
Prof. Jonathan Leach — J.Leach@hw.ac.uk 

Or contact: pgr@eps.hw.ac.uk for general enquiries

Business Development Enquiries

Kevin McIver
Business Development Manager (Quantum & Photonics)
kevin.mciver@hw.ac.uk