Who to contact

General Enquiries

For general enquiries, please contact the School of Engineering & Physical Sciences.

Telephone: +44 (0) 131 451 4100 Email: enquiries@eps.hw.ac.uk

If you know the name of the person you would like to contact, you can search for their contact details using the Heriot-Watt People Finder.

EPS Student Support Office

For all undergraduate enquiries, please contact the EPS Student Support Office in JN1.07.

Telephone: +44 (0) 131 451 4100 Office: JN1.07, James Naysmith Building
Email: enquiries@eps.hw.ac.uk

Head of School

Head of School (Interim):  Prof. Duncan Hand — D.P.Hand@hw.ac.uk

Deputy Head of School (Interim):  Prof. Gillian Thomson G.B.Thomson@hw.ac.uk

School Directors

Director of Research:  Prof. Nicholas Leslie — n.r.leslie@hw.ac.uk

Director of Learning and Teaching:  Prof. Gillian Thomson G.B.Thomson@hw.ac.uk

Director of Quality Assurance: Dr Mehdi Nazarinia — m.nazarinia@hw.ac.uk

Head of Operations: Claire Porter — c.porter@hw.ac.uk

Heads of Research Institutes

Institute of Chemical Sciences: Prof. Martin Patersonm.j.paterson@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Biological Chemistry, Biophysics and Bioengineering:  Prof. Vicky Stone — v.stone@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Sensors Signals and Systems: Prof. George Goussetis —  g.goussetis@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Mechanical, Process and Energy Engineering: Prof. Tadhg O'Donovan  — T.S.O'Donovan@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Photonics and Quantum Sciences: Prof. Patrik Öhberg — P.Ohberg@hw.ac.uk

Heads of Academic Disciplines
(Senior Programme Directors)

Chemistry: Dr Arno Kraft — A.Kraft@hw.ac.uk

Chemical Engineering: Prof. Graeme White — G.White@hw.ac.uk

Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering: Dr Matt Dunnigan — M.W.Dunnigan@hw.ac.uk

Mechanical Engineering: 
Dr Rehan Ahmed — R.Ahmed@hw.ac.uk and Dr Mik Pozzi  M.Pozzi@hw.ac.uk 

Physics: Dr Graeme Whyte — g.whyte@hw.ac.uk

Brewing & Distilling: Dr Dawn Maskell  — D.L.Maskell@hw.ac.uk

Associate Director of Studies for Combined Studies: Dr Alex Bell — A.Bell@hw.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research

Director of PGR Graduate School:   Dr Scott Dalgarno S.J.Dalgarno@hw.ac.uk

If you are interested in undertaking a 'PhD Degree by Research' then here are the research coordinators for our various subjects:

Institute of Chemical Sciences: 
Dr Filipe Vilela — f.vilela@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Biological Chemistry, Biophysics and Bioengineering: 
Dr Ferry Melchels — F.Melchels@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Sensors, Signals and Systems:
Dr Souheil Ben Smida  — S.Ben_Smida@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Mechanical, Process and Energy Engineering: 
Dr Michael Crichton — M.Crichton@hw.ac.uk and  Dr Uwe Wolfram — U.Wolfram@hw.ac.uk

Institute of Photonics and Quantum Sciences:
Dr Jonathan LeachJ.Leach@hw.ac.uk 

Or contact: pgr@eps.hw.ac.uk

There is more information about how to obtain a PhD by research on EPS Graduate School pages.

Business Development Enquiries

Telephone: +44 (0) 131 451 4469

Dr Grant Sellar — g.sellar@hw.ac.uk

Key information

EPS Student Office - JN1.09

Engineering and Physical Sciences