Military Education Committee

The City of Edinburgh Universities Military Education Committee is an autonomous body with membership drawn from Heriot-Watt University, Napier University, the University of Edinburgh, and Queen Margaret University, which:

  • Oversees and monitors the work of the three University Service Units which draw officer cadets from the Edinburgh universities: the East Scotland University Royal Naval Unit, the City of Edinburgh Universities Officers' Training Corps, and the East of Scotland University Air Squadron
  • Advises the Universities on matters relating to military education
  • Ensures that student activities within a University Service Unit are not to the detriment of academic progress and general student welfare
  • Ensures that Universities' policies and related legislation are, as far as practicable, maintained within the University Service Units
  • Encourages and promotes an interest in strategic studies within the Universities
  • Liaises with the three Services, making recommendations or advising on matters relating to the appointment of commanding officers and senior honorary posts in accordance with the arrangements established by each Service
  • Liaises with the Council of Military Education Committees