Heriot-Watt University scientist wins prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry award



Professor Stuart Macgregor has been named winner of the prestigious Ludwig Mond Award from the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Professor Macgregor, of Heriot-Watt University, has won the award for computational studies that have changed our understanding of C–H functionalisation, C–F bond activation, and the formation and reactivity of sigma-alkane complexes in the solid state.

Receiving the award, Professor Macgregor said: “It is hugely satisfying to receive the recognition of the Ludwig Mond Award – especially when considering the calibre of the previous winners. It is also a recognition of the hard work and high standards of my co-workers at Heriot-Watt and our collaborators over many years.”

Professor Macgregor was born in Edinburgh and raised in St Andrews, Fife. He has since lived in Edinburgh since 1997. In winning the award Professor Macgregor also receives £2,000 and a medal.

Dr Robert Parker, chief executive of the Royal Society of Chemistry said:

“Over the years, our lives have been significantly improved by the chemical sciences, from medicines and food to the environment itself. We are proud of the contribution the chemical sciences make to our global community, which is why it is right for us to recognise important innovations and expertise such as these.

“Our Prizes and Awards recognise people from a range of different specialisms, backgrounds and locations. Every winner is an inspiration to the chemistry community and will play an incredibly important role in enriching people's lives for generations to come.”

Professor Macgregor's work uses computer simulations to explore the molecular world, to understand how chemical bonds are broken and formed and how we can control these processes to make better use of our natural resources.

The Royal Society of Chemistry's Awards and Prizes are awarded in recognition of originality and impact of research, or for each winner's contribution to the chemical sciences industry or education. They also acknowledge the importance of teamwork across the chemical sciences, as well as the abilities of individuals to develop successful collaborations.

Of those to have won a Royal Society of Chemistry Award, an illustrious list of 50 have gone on to win Nobel Prizes for their pioneering work, including 2016 Nobel laureates Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Fraser Stoddart and Ben Feringa.