Fashion and design’s future stars kick off graduation season



Graduation season kicked off in style – when students from the School of Textiles and Design graduated in the Scottish Borders, today.

Around 130 graduates and their families gathered for the ceremony at Old Parish and Saint Paul's Church, Galashiels before a reception at Old Gala House.

The ceremony, which also included the announcement of the winners of a wide range of industry funded prizes, was hosted by Professor Richard Williams, Principal and Vice-Chancellor and Professor Fiona Waldron, Head of the School of Textiles and Design.

The award winners included: 

The Graduates' Teaching Award

The award is made in recognition of the quality of teaching and support received by students and in recognition of the dedication of staff who are committed to improving the student experience.

Winner: Bruce Roberts (Fashion Technology)

The Watt Club Medal

The Watt Club Medal is awarded annually to those students who have achieved the greatest distinction in their undergraduate honours degree course.

The silver medal is Heriot-Watt University's premier award for undergraduate students.

Winner: Sarah Frances McCann (Textiles)

The Dr Oliver Medal Award

The best overall final year student on the Bachelor of Arts in Design for Textiles programme.

Winner: Caitlin Taylor Devlin

The Incorporation of Bonnetmakers and Dyers of Edinburgh Prize

Awarded to a fourth year student for the best project Veronica Skivington (BA Design for Textiles)

Winner: Sarah Frances McCann (BA Design for Textiles)

Winner: Danielle McLeary (BSc Fashion Technology)

The Worshipful Company of Dyers of the City of London Award

Awarded to final year students on the Bachelor of Arts in Design for Textiles (Fashion, Interior, Art) programme for the best use of colour within Constructed Materials and Printed Materials.

Winner: Lanya Davis (Printed Materials)

Winner: Rosey Gregg (Constructed Materials)

Winner: Alison Nina Halley (Printed Materials)

Winner: Lauren Moffat (Constructed Materials)

The Worshipful Company of Dyers of the City of London Award, Roger Flemington Awards

Awarded to the best honours graduate on the Bachelor of Arts in Fashion Marketing and Retailing programme.

Winner: Ailidh MacLean