Triple Heriot-Watt wins for prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry awards



Professor Kenneth McKendrick, Dr Scott Dalgarno, Professor Vicki Stone

Three Heriot-Watt academics have been named as prize and award winners in the prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry awards 2015.

Professor Kenneth McKendrick, Head of the Institute of Chemical Sciences in the School of Engineering and Physical Sciences (EPS), is the Royal Society of Chemistry Chemical Dynamics Award winner for 2015, in recognition of his research on the dynamics of molecular collisions.

“Whether they work in research, industry or academia, our winners are the very best in their fields.”
Dr Robert Parker

Professor Vicki Stone, Director of Nanosafety and Professor of Toxicology in the School of Life Sciences, has won the Toxicology Award, presented by the Royal Society of Chemistry once every two years. She researches the effects of tiny particles, one hundredth the width of a human hair, on living creatures, and what effects the many such nanomaterials in the environment have on the body if they are breathed in, eaten, or come in contact with the skin.

Dr Scott Dalgarno, Head of Molecular Chemistry within the Institute of Chemical Sciences  in EPS, is the Royal Society of Chemistry Sir Edward Frankland Fellowship winner for 2015. His team works on creating chemical building blocks that can be used in a range of different ways, including developing self-assembling systems. They also study the magnetic properties of the molecules they form.

Professor McKendrick said, “I am obviously delighted to receive this award. I have been very lucky to work with many talented people, including members of my research group and collaborators both at Heriot-Watt and elsewhere. Without their many contributions, little of what has been achieved would have been possible. Our work has some readily identifiable applications, but much of it is fundamentally motivated whose impact will be realised in the longer term. It is gratifying to see this being recognised through this award.”

Professor Stone said, “It is a great surprise to receive the Royal Society of Chemistry Toxicology Award for 2015. Working in the field of nanomaterial toxicology it is increasingly important that as toxicologists we work with chemists and material scientists in order to inform appropriate risk management of nanomaterials as well as including safety in their design in future. I hope to use this award to strengthen such relationships.”

Dr Dalgarno said, “It is an honour to be chosen as the recipient of the 2015 Sir Edward Frankland Fellowship. It is great to have our work in supramolecular coordination chemistry recognised in this way and the Fellowship will be a perfect opportunity to highlight exciting recent developments that are as yet unpublished.”

Originality, impact and quality

The Royal Society of Chemistry’s Prizes and Awards Award winners are evaluated for the originality and impact of their research, as well as the quality of the results which can be shown in publications, patents, or even software. The awards also recognise the importance of teamwork across the chemical sciences, and the abilities of individuals to develop successful collaborations.

Dr Robert Parker, Chief Executive of the Royal Society of Chemistry said, “It is always a pleasure to recognise excellence in the chemical sciences and I am pleased to acknowledge the illustrious achievements of our prize and award winners this year.

“Whether they work in research, industry or academia, our winners are the very best in their fields, and they can be very proud to follow in the footsteps of some of the most influential and important scientists around the world.

“In a complex and changing world, chemistry and the chemical sciences are vital in responding to some of humanity’s biggest challenges and our prize and award winners are at the forefront of meeting that challenge.