EPS Scholarships 2022

EPS Scholarships for PhD Research from Autumn 2022

Heriot-Watt University has now created scholarship opportunities in the School of Engineering & Physical Sciences for 2022-23.

Requirements

All applicants must have or expect to have a 1st class MChem, MPhys, MSci, MEng or equivalent degree by Autumn 2022. Selection will be based on academic excellence and research potential, and all short-listed applicants will be interviewed (in person or via Microsoft Teams). Most of these scholarships are only open to UK applicants and for EU students who meet residency requirements set out by EPSRC. For some projects, applications may be accepted for exceptional overseas applicants.

Level of award

There are a number of scholarships available. Generally these offer an annual stipend payment of approx. £15,609 per year and cover tuition fees for between 3 and 3.5 years

How to apply

Find out how to apply for these scholarship opportunities below.

How to apply

1. Important information before you Apply

When applying through the Heriot-Watt on-line system please ensure you provide the following information:

(a) in 'Study Option'

You will need to select 'Edinburgh' and 'Postgraduate Research'. 'Programme' presents you with a drop-down menu. Choose Chemistry PhD, Physics PhD, Chemical Engineering PhD, Mechanical Engineering PhD, Bio-science & Bio-Engineering PhD or Electrical PhD as appropriate and select September 2022 for study option (this can be updated at a later date if required)

(b) in 'Research Project Information'

You will be provided with a free text box for details of your research project. Enter Title and Reference number of the project for which you are applying and also enter the potential supervisor's name.

This information will greatly assist us in tracking your application.

Please note that once you have submitted your application, it will not be considered until you have uploaded your CV and transcripts.

2. Applications

Applications must be made through the Heriot-Watt online application system

3. Closing Date

All applications must be received by Monday 28th February 2022. All successful candidates will usually be expected to commence their studies in September/October 2022.

Scholarship Opportunities

Solid-State Molecular Organometallic Chemistry of Methane, Ethane and Propane (EPS2022/01)

Stuart Macgregor; s.a.macgregor@hw.ac.uk

Supramolecular Photocatalysis (EPS2022/02)

Dr Scott Dalgarno, S.J.Dalgarno@hw.ac.uk

Dynamics of Atmospherically Relevant Gas-Liquid Surface Reactions I: Velocity-Map Imaging Probes (EPS2022/03)

Dr Stuart J. Greaves, s.j.greaves@hw.ac.uk

Dynamics of Atmospherically Relevant Gas-Liquid Surface Reactions II: Real-Space Imaging and Advanced Laser Absorption Probes (EPS2022/04)

Prof Kenneth G. McKendrick, k.g.mckendrick@hw.ac.uk

Inelastic and Reactive Scattering Dynamics of NO and OH (EPS2022/05)

Prof Matt Costen, m.l.costen@hw.ac.uk

Reactive-Atom Scattering as a Novel Probe of Ionic-Liquid Surfaces (EPS2022/06)

Prof Ken McKendrick, k.g.mckendrick@hw.ac.uk

Simulation of Molecules in Electronically Excited States (EPS2022/07)

Prof. Martin J. Paterson, m.j.paterson@hw.ac.uk

Development of novel photoactivatable fluorescent proteins for super-resolution microscopy (EPS2022/08)

Dr Colin Rickman. c.rickman@hw.ac.uk

Rapid Non-invasive Diagnostics of Bloodstream Infections in Septic Patients via Microfluidic-Based and Real-time Sequencing Approaches (EPS2022/09)

Maïwenn Kersaudy-Kerhoas m.kersaudy-kerhoas@hw.ac.uk

Biophotonics for healthcare with fibre optics and single photon detection (EPS2022/10)

Dr Michael Tanner, M.Tanner@hw.ac.uk

Advancing quantum sensing with single spins (EPS2022/11)

Cristian Bonato, c.bonato@hw.ac.uk

Underwater single-photon depth imaging (EPS2022/12)

Dr Aurora Maccarone (a.maccarone@hw.ac.uk)

3D Beamshaping for Laser Based-Manufacturing (EPS2022/13)

Dr R Carter R.M.Carter@hw.ac.uk

High-speed secure optical communication (EPS2022/14)

Dr Xu Wang (x.wang@hw.ac.uk)

Laser Induced Forward Transfer (LIFT) for manufacture of miniature bespoke metallic structures for micro-surgical applications (EPS2022/15)

Prof Duncan Hand D.P.Hand@hw.ac.uk

Free-space quantum and optical communications utilising arrayed sensors (EPS2022/16)

Ross Donaldson R.Donaldson@hw.ac.uk

Modelling of nonlinear devices for ultrafast photonics and quantum optics (EPS2022/17)

Dr Richard McCracken, R.A.McCracken@hw.ac.uk

Next generation components for quantum communications (EPS2022/18)

Gerald Buller - G.S.Buller@hw.ac.uk

Quantum-enhanced imaging in extreme environments (EPS2022/19)

Gerald Buller - G.S.Buller@hw.ac.uk

Semiconductor single‑photon detection (EPS2022/20)

Gerald Buller - G.S.Buller@hw.ac.uk

Ultrafast lasers for high precision surgical applications (EPS2022/21)

Prof Jon Shephard j.d.shephard@hw.ac.uk

Integrated quantum memories for quantum communication applications (EPS2022/22)

Dr Margherita Mazzera m.mazzera@hw.ac.uk

Ultrafast LiDAR for Imaging and Control (EPS2022/23)

Prof. Derryck T. Reid, D.T.Reid@hw.ac.uk

Laser Astrocomb Development for the Extremely Large Telescope (EPS2022/24)

Prof. Derryck T. Reid, D.T.Reid@hw.ac.uk

Vacuum ultraviolet driven nonlinear optics (EPS2022/25)

Prof. John Travers j.travers@hw.ac.uk

Novel femtosecond fibre lasers for deep ultraviolet light generation (EPS2022/26)

Prof. John Travers j.travers@hw.ac.uk

Development of instrumentation for dynamic tissue monitoring during robotic surgery. (EPS2022/27)

Dr Bill MacPherson (w.n.macpherson@hw.ac.uk) and Professor Duncan Hand (d.p.hand@hw.ac.uk)

Under-water Optical Communication (EPS2022/28)

Dr Xu Wang (x.wang@hw.ac.uk)

Laser Design and Development: ultra-short-pulse 2 µm wavelength lasers (EPS2022/29)

Prof M J Daniel Esser m.j.d.esser@hw.ac.uk

Reinventing laser system design rules for autonomous robotic assembly of lasers (EPS2022/30)

Prof M J Daniel Esser. m.j.d.esser@hw.ac.uk

Strongly correlated states in designer two-dimensional moiré heterostructures (EPS2022/31)

Mauro Brotons-Gisbert (m.brotons_i_gisbert@hw.ac.uk) & Brian Gerardot (b.d.gerardot@hw.ac.uk)

PhD in experimental quantum networking (EPS2022/32)

Professor Alessandro Fedrizzi, a.fedrizzi@hw.ac.uk

PhD in satellite quantum communication (EPS2022/33)

Professor Alessandro Fedrizzi, a.fedrizzi@hw.ac.uk

Net-zero sustainable aviation fuel through catalytic co-valorisation of CO2 and biomass (EPS2022/34)

Prof. Mercedes Maroto-Valer m.maroto-valer@hw.ac.uk

PhotoCatalytic Conversion of Biomass into Green Hydrogen (EPS2022/35)

Dr John Anderson J.Andresen@hw.ac.uk

Novel tools to optimise the use of the subsurface to store carbon dioxide and hydrogen. (EPS2022/36)

Prof Mercedes Maroto-Valer m.maroto-valer@hw.ac.uk

Process Informed-design of tailor-made sorbent materials for energy-efficient carbon capture (EPS2022/37)

Prof. Susana Garcia, S.Garcia@hw.ac.uk

Design and fabrication of solid-state flexible supercapacitors using high surface area based advanced materials (EPS2022/38)

Dr. Sudhagar Pitchaimuthu; S.Pitchaimuthu@hw.ac.uk

Model development and simulation of novel processes for CO2 direct air capture from the atmosphere (EPS2022/39)

Contact: Dr. Mijndert van der Spek M.van_der_spek@hw.ac.uk

Evaluation of net-zero CO2 jet fuel options (EPS2022/40)

Mijndert van der Spek m.van_der_spek@hw.ac.uk

Assessing the potential of concrete for atmospheric CO2 removal (EPS2022/41)

Dr P Renforth; p.renforth@hw.ac.uk

Crumbling reefs: Simulation based monitoring of coral reefs (EPS2022/42)

Dr Uwe Wolfram; u.wolfram@hw.ac.uk

Biophysics informed neural network based constitutive modelling of biologic meta-materials (EPS2022/43)

Dr Uwe Wolfram; u.wolfram@hw.ac.uk

Development/improvement of a smart precision 3D assembly system (EPS2022/44)

Dr X. Kong, X.Kong@hw.ac.uk

Topology Optimisation and Laser-based Manufacture of Micro-Actuators for Medical Applications (EPS2022/45)

Dr Yuhang Chen (y.chen@hw.ac.uk)

Luminescence Quantification Methods at the Near-Infrared Region (EPS2022/46)

Dr. Jose Marques-Hueso; J.Marques@hw.ac.uk

A compact acoustic system for extracting, size-sorting and identifying microplastics to improve our understanding of their impact on Scottish seas. (EPS2022/47)

Anne Bernassau: a.bernassau@hw.ac.uk

Innovative Measurement System for Remote Monitoring of Biosignals (EPS2022/48)

Dimitris Anagnostou d.anagnostou@hw.ac.uk

Robotic Surgery Training System - Robot Control, System Design (EPS2022/49)

Mustafa Suphi Erden (m.s.erden@hw.ac.uk)

Deep Learning-based Characterisation of Protein Aggregation in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) (EPS2022/50)

Marta Vallejo - m.vallejo@hw.ac.uk

Low-power sensing and wireless communication for sustainable IoT networks (EPS2022/51)

Dr Yuan Ding, yd25@hw.ac.uk

Design and development of a miniature manipulation device for ablation laser surgery (EPS2022/52)

Mustafa Suphi Erden (m.s.erden@hw.ac.uk)

Development of Spiking Neural Networks for event-based imaging and sensing (EPS2022/53)

Steve McLaughlin: S.McLaughlin@hw.ac.uk Yoann Altmann: Y.Altmann@hw.ac.uk

Detection and tracking of transient phenomena from heterogenous data and data-driven methods (EPS2022/54)

Steve McLaughlin: S.McLaughlin@hw.ac.uk Yoann Altmann: Y.Altmann@hw.ac.uk

Radio Frequency (RF)-informed Intelligent Massive Active Arrays for Future Wireless Communications (EPS2022/55)

Dr Yuan Ding, yd25@hw.ac.uk

Robust and Scalable Computational Methods for Extreme Imaging. (EPS2022/56)

Abderrahim Halimi, a.halimi@hw.ac.uk

Improving the acquisition and processing of single-photon data (EPS2022/57)

Abderrahim Halimi, a.halimi@hw.ac.uk

AI algorithms for precision computational imaging: from deep learning, optimisation, and Bayesian inference theories, to applications in astronomy and medicine (EPS2022/58)

Professor Yves Wiaux, y.wiaux@hw.ac.uk