Heriot-Watt University is regulated by the Court, which is the body that ultimately oversees all the University's financial and contractual issues, and academic undertakings.

A profile of each member of Court can be found below.

Should you wish to contact any member of the Court, please do so through the University Secretary, Ruth Moir, at

Members of Court (by member category)

Chair of Court

Deputy Chair of Court

Co-opted by the Court

Member of the Graduates and Former Students Association

President of the Student Union

Appointed by the Council of the Student Union

Principal and Vice-Chancellor

Vice-Principal, Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Dean of the University

  • To be confirmed

Member of Senate

Elected Staff Member

Trade Union Member