Engineering

We have a number of supervisors for PhD applicants interested in Engineering and Engineering Trades. The staff members and their research interests are:

Chemical Engineering PhD supervisors

Denny Ng Kok Sum

Denny Ng Kok Sum | Professor | Denny.Ng@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Value chain optimisation
  • Net Zero Strategy
  • Process synthesis and design
  • Process integration and optimisation
  • Biomass processing and integrated biorefinery
Mohamed Ali Hamid Ali

Mohamed Ali Hamid Ali | Associate Professor | m.ali@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Enhanced Oil Recovery (EOR)
  • Carbon Dioxide Storage
Ayman William Hermansson

Ayman William Hermansson | Associate Professor | a.hermansson@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Process Control
Choy Sook Yan

Choy Sook Yan | Assistant Professor  | s.choy@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Biomass utilization
  • Natural coagulants
  • Water treatment
  • Microalgae harvesting
Billie Hiew Yan Zhang

Billie Hiew Yan Zhang | Assistant Professor  | b.hiew@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Nanotechnology
  • Advanced materials
  • Environmental pollution control technology
  • Biomass reutilisation engineering
Koh Kai Seng

Koh Kai Seng | Assistant Professor  | k.koh@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Microfluidics
  • Environmental Science
  • Carbon Dioxide Absorption
Lim Chun Hsion

Lim Chun Hsion | Assistant Professor | l.chun_hsion@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Process optimisation
  • Process integration and synthesis
Jecksin Ooi

Jecksin Ooi | Assistant Professor | j.ooi@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Computer-aided molecular design
  • Process system engineering
Wong Voon Loong

Wong Voon Loong | Assistant Professor | v.wong@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Microfluidics
  • Environmental Science

Civil Engineering PhD supervisors

Ibrisam Akbar

Ibrisam Akbar | Associate Professor | i.akbar@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Steel/FRP retrofitting
  • FRP strucures
  • Soil-structures strengthening
Teo Wee

Teo Wee | Associate Professor | t.wee@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • FRP strengthening and retrofitting of structures
  • High performance cementitious composites materials (UHPC/ECC)
  • Alkali-activated cementitious materials
  • Nonlinear finite element analysis of concrete structures
  • Seismic assessment of concrete structures
Chu May Yen

Chu May Yen | Assistant Professor| C.May_Yen@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Private vehicle growth trend and demand
  • Transport management and safety
  • Transport Policy
Md Shabbir Hossain

Md Shabbir Hossain | Assistant Professor | m.hossain@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Water resources management
  • Artificial intelligences in hydrology
  • Optimization using heuristic and swarm based algorithms
  • Dam failure analysis
Ng Soon Min

Ng Soon Min | Assistant Professor | Soon_Min.Ng@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Rainfall induced slope failure
  • Sustainable solutions for built environment
  • Numerical Modelling in geotechnical practice
Nurul Izma Mohammed

Nurul Izma Mohammed | Assistant Professor | nurul_izma.mohammed@hw.c.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Air Pollution Engineering
  • Climate Change
  • Indoor Air Pollution
  • Renewable energy

Electrical and Electronic Engineering PhD supervisors

Dennis Wong ML

Dennis Wong ML | Professor | d.wong@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Signal Processing
  • Cryptography
Florence Choong Chiao Mei

Florence Choong Chiao Mei | Associate Professor | h.tan@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • IC design
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Visible light communication 
Go Yun Ii

Go Yun Ii | Associate Professor | y.go@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Photonic
  • Photovoltaics
Bhuvendhraa Rudrusamy

Bhuvendhraa Rudrusamy | Assistant Professor | b.rudrusamy@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • 3D Image Registration
  • Pattern Recognition
  • Computer Vision
  • Machine Learning
  • Artificial Intelligence
Nurmala Irdawaty Hassan

Nurmala Irdawaty Hassan | Assistant Professor | n.hassan@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Power transmission
  • Transformer health assessment
Lee Chia Ping

Lee Chia Ping | Assistant Professor | chia_ping.lee@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • RF and Microwave
  • Education
Nur Dalilla Nordin

Nur Dalilla Nordin | Assistant Professor | n.nordin@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Distributed fibre optic sensing
  • Brillouin optical time domain analyser
Jaysern Pang Jia Yew

Jaysern Pang Jia Yew | Assistant Professor | j.pang@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Electrical Engineering
Yew Weng Kean

Yew Weng Kean | Assistant Professor | w.yew@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Renewable Energy Optimization
  • Energy Management System

Mechanical Engineering PhD supervisors

Adlansyah Abd Rahman

Adlansyah Abd Rahman | Associate Professor | a.abd_rahman@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Renewable Energy
  • Bioenergy
Shasthri Sivaguru

Shasthri Sivaguru | Associate Professor | S.Sivaguru@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • FEA
  • Structural Dynamics
  • Optimization
  • Mechanics (Crash and Solid)
Yap Tze Chuen

Yap Tze Chuen | Associate Professor | t.yap@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Tribology
  • Additive manufacturing
  • Non-conventional manufacturing
Noor Shieela Binti Kalib

Noor Shieela Binti Kalib | Assistant Professor | n.kalib@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Renewable Energy
  • Fuel cell
  • FEA
  • Thermal energy 
Aluyah b Sipi

Aluyah b Sipi | Assistant Professor | a.b.sipi@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Petroleum Engineering
Zia Ud Din

Zia Ud Din | Assistant Professor | z.din@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Waste-To-Energy
  • Biomass gasification
  • Solid Oxide Fuel Cells
Lai Mun Kou

Lai Mun Kou | Assistant Professor | m.lai@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Nanotechnology
  • 3D printing
Mohd Fareez Edzuan Abdullah

Mohd Fareez Edzuan Abdullah | Assistant Professor | m.abdullah@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Diesel spray and combustion
  • Optical diagnostics: Model-based design of electric vehicle
Suganti A/P Ramarad

Suganti A/P Ramarad | Assistant Professor | r.suganti@hw.ac.uk  | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Polymer Engineering
  • Circular economy

Engineering PhD supervisors

Lim Ling Hong 

Lim Ling Hong | Assistant Professor | L.Lim@hw.ac.uk

Research specialisms:

  • Computational plasma physics
  • Plasma focus
  • Numerical Analysis
  • Theoritical plasma focus
Lee Weng Nam

Lee Weng Nam | Assistant Professor | w.lee@hw.ac.uk

Research specialisms:

  • Material Chemistry
  • Liquid crystal
  • Bio-based liquid crystals
Yap Yuen Kiat

Yap Yuen Kiat | Assistant Professor | y.yap@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Applied optics
  • Laser physics
  • Fibre optics
  • 2-dimensional nanomaterials
Zakaria Hamdi

Zakaria Hamdi | Assistant Professor | Z.Hamdi@hw.ac.uk | Research profile

Research specialisms:

  • Reservoir Simulation & Modelling
  • Deep Eutectic Solvents
  • Enhanced Oil Recovery
  • CO2 Storage / Flooding
  • Hydrates
  • Hydrogen Storage