Student Success Advisors

University can be a challenge sometimes, so it is always better to share what’s going on and ask questions rather than let things get on top of you.

Nobody knows this better than students who have been through it all themselves, so Heriot-Watt provides an innovative global support service for students: a team of student success advisors, all of whom are recent Heriot-Watt graduates

Student success advisor activities

Student success advisors are involved in a range of activities including:

  • Pre-entry advice and guidance.
  • Induction programmes.
  • Orientation and welcome activities for students.
  • Providing targeted updates and information about news and events on campus relevant to students.
  • Advice and guidance to students at all stages of study.
  • Working with Schools and other professional services to develop and deliver initiatives and activities which will enhance the student experience and student success.

How the student success advisors can help you

With the benefit of recent experience and successful study at Heriot-Watt, the student success advisors are able to advise students from a position of really knowing what it is like being a student here and can offer advice based on their own experiences.  They also have an overview of the other support resources available at Heriot-Watt and can point you in the right direction if you need it.  

Contacting a student success advisor

Edinburgh campus

You can come to a drop-in from 12 to 1, Monday to Friday during term time in the Student Wellbeing Centre.  No prior booking is required.  Alternatively you can book an appointment through the myHWU Student Portal, or email your enquiry to studentsuccess@hw.ac.uk 

Scottish Borders campus

You can come to a drop-in on from 1 to 3 on Monday or Thursday during term time on the top floor of the High Mill.  No prior booking is required.  Alternatively you can book an appointment through the myHWU Student Portal, or email your enquiry to sbc.wellbeing@hw.ac.uk

Orkney campus

Orkney campus students can contact Lara Stroudinsky l.stroudinsky@hw.ac.uk

Malaysia campus

Contact Edina and Ken at studentsuccessmy@hw.ac.uk

Dubai campus

Contact us at studentsuccessdubai@hw.ac.uk 

Key information

Anya Reed

Job title
Student Success Advisor: Borders Campus
Email
a.reed@hw.ac.uk

Student Success Advisors

John Currie

Job title
Student Success Advisor: Edinburgh campus
Email
john.currie@hw.ac.uk

Lily Walker

Job title
Student Success Advisor: Edinburgh Campus
Email
l.walker@hw.ac.uk

David Little

Job title
Student Success Advisor: Edinburgh Campus
Email
david.c.little@hw.ac.uk

Lara Stroudinsky

Job title
Student Success Advisor: Edinburgh, SBC (PG Students only) and Orkney campuses
Email
l.stroudinsky@hw.ac.uk

Wu Ken

Job title
Student Success Advisor: Malaysia Campus
Email
s.ken@hw.ac.uk

Edina Salem

Job title
Student Success Advisor: Malaysia Campus
Email
e.salem@hw.ac.uk

Farah Basem

Job title
Student Success Advisor: Dubai Campus
Email
f.basem@hw.ac.uk

Shailin Sequeira

Job title
Student Success Advisor: Dubai Campus
Email
shailin.sequeira@hw.ac.uk