Centres for Doctoral Training

Heriot-Watt University helps trains the future generation of researchers across eight inter-university Centres for Doctoral Training (CDTs), leading on four of these.
Six centres have just been announced including two new centres led by the university, funded by the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC):

We will co-lead, in collaboration with the Universities of Glasgow and Edinburgh, the UK’s first centre to offer specific training in algebra, geometry, topology and mathematical physics:

  • EPSRC CDT in Algebra, Geometry and Quantum Fields

and the university is a partner in the new:

  • EPSRC and MOD CDT in Sensing, Processing, and AI for Defence and Security, led by the University of Edinburgh
  • EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in Quantum Informatics led by University of Edinburgh (not recruiting yet)
  • PSRC CDT in Applied Quantum Technologies, led by University of Strathclyde

To read more about the EPSRC-funded CDTs, announced on 12 March 2024, follow the news link.

We also lead and are recruiting for:

Existing partner-led Centres for Doctoral Training:

Key information

PG Admissions