Heriot-Watt University has awarded Honorary Degrees since 1966 to nearly 450 exceptional individuals. From many different walks of life, these individuals include eminent scientists, engineers, inventors, leaders in their fields and many others who have made a significant contribution to society and to the life of the University. The people Heriot-Watt honour reflect our mission, ambitions and values of the University.

See a full list of our Honorary Graduates.

Professor Alex Balfour

Pioneering Mathematics and Computer Science Academic

Professor Anne Neville

RAEng Chair in Emerging Technologies and Professor of Tribology and Surface Engineering,University of Leeds

Sir Bob Reid

Board of Directors of Diligenta Limited, Belltree Group UK and EEA Helicopter Operations

Professor David Teece

Chairman and Principal Executive Officer at Berkeley Research Group

Dr Tony Strachan

Former Deputy Chair of Heriot-Watt University

Mrs Elizabeth Rio Watt

Former Governor and Heriot-Watt University Court Member

Mr Emad Azmy

President of Al Shafar General Contracting (ASGC)

Professor George Stewart

Reservoir Engineering Expert and Founder R G Stewart Consulting Ltd

Mr Paul Rennie

Director for Diplomacy and Networks at the Foreign & Commonwealth Office

Mr Peter Gerard Schunemann

Researcher in developing mid-infrared nonlinear optical crystals

Mr Saif Humaid Al Falasi

Chairman of Gulf Energy Maritime

Professor Onno J. Boxma

Professor of Stochastic Operations Research, Eindhoven University of Technology

Mr Patrick J. Grant

Creative Director, Norton & Sons and E.Tautz

Professor Dr Ursula Keller

Tenured Professor of Physics at ETH Zurich

Professor Maria J. Esteban

President of the International Council for Industrial and Applied Mathematics

Professor Sir John McCanny

Regius Professor (Emeritus) of Electronics and Computer Engineering at Queen’s University Belfast

Dr Shonaig Macpherson

Chair of the Robertson Trust

Dr William Lumsden

Director of Distilling, Whisky Creation and Whisky Stocks, Glenmorangie Company

Dato' Yeoh Seok Kian

Managing Director, YTL Corporation Berhad