Voting for 2018 Election from Schools to Senate

Voting will open on Monday 21 May 2018 to elect colleagues from four Schools to the Senate.

The recent call for nominations received an excellent response, although one School (EPS) unfortunately did not fill all of its vacancies in this round. There will therefore be further opportunity for EPS Staff to be nominated.

Please click on the links below to see the names of the candidates:

Outcome of Elections to Senate May/June 2018
School Vacancies Candidates Outcome

School of Engineering and Physical Sciences

Six vacancies Four candidates Candidates elected unopposed – Nominations to re-open for remaining places
School of Social Sciences Six vacancies Eleven candidates Voting is open: 21 May to 4 June 2018

School of Energy, Geoscience, Infrastructure and Society

Five vacancies Six candidates Voting is open: 21 May to 4 June 2018
School of Mathematics and Computer Sciences Five vacancies Eight candidates Voting is open: 21 May to 4 June 2018
School of Textiles and Design Three vacancies Five candidates Voting is open: 21 May to 4 June 2018
Edinburgh Business School One vacancy One candidate Candidate elected unopposed


You will be emailed voting instructions on Monday 21 May if you are eligible to vote in the election within your School.  You are eligible if you are a member of academic or research staff on an open-ended contract (full- or part-time).  You can only vote for candidates within your School. 

Please contact John McDermott if you are eligible to participate in the election, but have not received a direct email by Tuesday 22 May.

More details on the election – including candidates’ statements – are available at

NB All completed ballot papers from the four Schools should be returned to the Elections Mailbox by Monday 4 June 2018 (4.00 pm UK time).

The Single Transferable Voting System is used for these elections. The outcome of the election is intended to be announced on 6th June at the latest.

Ordinance C1 governs these elections, which are run under the auspices of the Secretary of the University.  

Please contact John McDermott (Clerk to the Senate) for more information.

Key information

John McDermott