

## Membership of the Senate Session 2023-24

	Ex Officio Members	
Principal and Vice-Chancellor		
Professor Richard A Williams	(Chair of the Senate)	
Vice-Principal and Provost		
To be appointed	(Vice-Chair of the Senate)	
Deputy Principals		
Professor Gillian Murray	Deputy Principal for Enterprise and Business	
Professor Steve McLaughlin	Deputy Principal for Research and Impact	
Professor Malcolm Chrisp	Deputy Principal for Education and Student Life	
Professor Mercedes Maroto-Valer	Deputy Principal for Global Sustainability	
International Campuses		Appointed to:
Professor Mushtak Al-Atabi	Vice-Principal and Provost Heriot-Watt University Malaysia	31/07/27
Professor Dame Heather McGregor	Vice-Principal and Provost Heriot-Watt University Dubai	31/07/27
Elected Deans of the University		
Dr Yvonne McLaren-Hankin	'Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences'	31/03/26
Dr Alistair McConnell	'Science and Engineering'	31/12/26
Dr Daniel Hale	'Pan-University Constituency'	31/03/27
<b>Heads of Primary Academic Units</b>		
<u>Professor Basheer Muhammed</u>	School of Energy, Geoscience, Infrastructure and Society	
Professor Angus Laing	School of Social Sciences	
<u>Professor Igor Guz</u>	School of Engineering and Physical Sciences	
Professor Sara Lombardo	School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences	
Professor Julian Malins	School of Textiles and Design (Acting)	
Professor Anna Fenge	Heriot-Watt Global College	
Chairs of Senate Committee(s) and	Joint Committee of Senate and the Court	
Professor Fiona Waldron	University Committee for Quality and Standards	31/07/26
Professor Fiona Waldron	Ordinances and Regulations Committee	31/07/26
Professor Mehdi Nazarinia	University Discipline Committee	30/12/26
	Student Members	
Mr Scott Anderson	Student Union President	31/05/24
Ms Georgia Noble	Student Union Vice-President for Wellbeing	31/05/24
Mr Connel Greenhorn	Student Union Vice-President for Education	31/05/24
Ms Anaswara Pradeep	Dubai Student Council President	31/05/24
Ms Josephine Jo	Dubai Student Council Academic Executive	TBC
Mr Ryan Koh	Malaysia Student Association President	31/05/24
Ms Joleen Chong Si Cheng	Malaysia Student Association Academic Vice-President	31/05/24
Ms Dilip Naidu Govind	Student Union Postgraduate Taught MP	TBC
Ms Celia M Silva	Student Union Postgraduate Research MP	TBC

Last updated: 01/04/2024 Hamid, Mark

	Elected Sta	off Members
School of Energy, Geoscience, Inf 12 Senators permitted to be elected		
Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes
Dr Craig Kennedy	31/07/24	
Dr Ross Alexander	31/07/24	
Dr Helen Lewis	31/07/24	
Ms Cheng Siew Goh	31/07/24	
Dr Demitrios Cotsovos	31/07/25	
Dr Shameel Muhammed	31/07/25	
Dr Yasemin Nielsen	31/07/25	
Professor Joanne Porter	31/07/25	Serving second successive term
Dr Harpreet Seth	31/07/25	
Dr Rabee Rustum	31/07/26	Serving second successive term
Dr Alex MacLaren	31/07/26	
Dr George Vasdravellis	31/07/26	
School of Engineering and Physic 15 Senators permitted to be elected	from this Primary A	cademic Unit
Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes
Professor Paul Dalgarno	31/07/24	
<u>Dr Tze Cheun Yap</u>	31/07/24	
Dr Ruaraidh Mcintosh	31/07/24	
Professor Helinor Johnston	31/07/24	
Dr Fadi Ghaith	31/07/24	
Dr Nasir Al Lagtah	31/07/25	
Dr Anne Bernassau	31/07/25	
Dr Florence Chiao Mei Choong	31/07/25	
Professor Annie Hill	31/07/25	
Professor Martin McCoustra	31/07/25	
Dr Richard McCracken	31/07/25	
Dr Hendrik Nahler	31/07/25	
Dr Humphrey Yiu	31/07/25	
Dr Bill MacPherson	31/07/25	Serving second successive term
Dr David Ellis	31/07/26	
School of Textiles and Design 5 Senators permitted to be elected fr	om this Primary Ac	cademic Unit (one vacancy)
Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes
Dr Britta Kalkreuter	31/07/24	
Dr Lucy Robertson	31/07/25	
Mr Lee Miles	31/07/25	Serving second successive term
Dr Euan Winton	31/07/26	

Dr Marion Winters  Mr Jose M Conde  Dr Linda Buchan  Dr Chris Rutherford  Dr Cakil Agnew	31/07/24 31/07/24	
Dr Linda Buchan Dr Chris Rutherford	21/07/24	Serving second successive term
Dr Chris Rutherford	31/07/24	
	31/07/24	
Dr Cakil Agnew	31/07/24	
	31/07/24	
Or Kathryn Waite	31/07/24	Serving second successive term
<u> Dr Kirin Hilliar</u>	31/07/24	
Dr Min-Hsiu Liao	31/07/24	
Dr Katerina Strani	31/07/25	Serving second successive term
Dr Ian Grant	31/07/25	
Dr Erkal Erso <u>y</u>	31/07/25	
Professor Reza Kouhy	31/07/26	
Dr Katriona Myhill	31/07/26	
Dr Monica Tamariz	31/07/26	
School of Mathematical and Cor		Academic Unit (one vacancy)
10 Senators permitted to be electe		Academic Unit (one vacancy)  Notes
10 Senators permitted to be electe Senator's Name	d from this Primary	
10 Senators permitted to be electe Senator's Name Professor Dugald Duncan	Elected to	Notes
IO Senators permitted to be electe Senator's Name Professor Dugald Duncan Mr Larry O'Brien	Elected to 31/07/24	Notes Serving second successive term
10 Senators permitted to be electe Senator's Name Professor Dugald Duncan Mr Larry O'Brien Dr Christian Saemann	Elected to 31/07/24 31/07/24	Notes Serving second successive term
10 Senators permitted to be electe Senator's Name Professor Dugald Duncan Mr Larry O'Brien Dr Christian Saemann Professor Hind Zantout	Elected to 31/07/24 31/07/24 31/07/24	Notes Serving second successive term
10 Senators permitted to be electe Senator's Name Professor Dugald Duncan Mr Larry O'Brien Dr Christian Saemann Professor Hind Zantout Professor Lehel Banjai	Elected to 31/07/24 31/07/24 31/07/24 31/07/24 31/07/24	Notes Serving second successive term
School of Mathematical and Cor 10 Senators permitted to be elected Senator's Name Professor Dugald Duncan Mr Larry O'Brien Dr Christian Saemann Professor Hind Zantout Professor Lehel Banjai Dr Timothy Johnson Dr Neamat El Gayar	Elected to 31/07/24 31/07/24 31/07/24 31/07/24 31/07/24 31/07/25	Notes Serving second successive term
10 Senators permitted to be electe Senator's Name Professor Dugald Duncan Mr Larry O'Brien Dr Christian Saemann Professor Hind Zantout Professor Lehel Banjai Dr Timothy Johnson	Elected to 31/07/24 31/07/24 31/07/24 31/07/24 31/07/24 31/07/25 31/07/25	Notes Serving second successive term

31/07/26

Mr Nader Shouly

## In Attendance

(can be varied from time to time)

Ms Ruth Moir, University Secretary

Ms Sue Collier, Global Director of Governance and

Legal Services

Ms Samantha Kane, Global Director of Student

Experience and Academic Registrar

Ms Kirsty Scanlan, Director of Strategic Planning, Performance and Projects

Professor Martha Caddell, Director of the Learning and Teaching Academy

Mr Mark Hamid, Senior Governance Officer (Clerk)

Dr Maggie King, Head of Academic Quality

## Notes on composition and membership

In accordance with the <u>Higher Education Governance (Scotland) Act 2016</u>, and as provided for in <u>Statute 5</u> and the <u>Ordinances</u>, the Senate is constituted in such a way that:

(a) more than 50% of its members are either persons appointed by being elected by the academic Staff from among their own number, or persons appointed by being elected by the Students of the institution from among the Students of the institution; and

(b) at least 10% of its members are persons appointed by being elected by the Students of the institution from among the Students of the institution.

The present structure delivers capacity for 83 Senators, comprised of:

19 ex officio positions;

8 members who are elected by the Students from among the Students; and

56 members who are elected by the academic Staff from among the academic Staff in Schools.