

Membership of the Senate

Session 2022-23

Ex Officio Members					
Principal and Vice-Chancellor					
Professor Richard A Williams	(Chair of the Senate)				
Vice-Principal and Provost					
Professor Mark Biggs	(Vice-Chair of the Senate)				
Deputy Principals	-				
Professor Gillian Murray	Deputy Principal for Enterprise and Business				
Professor Steve McLaughlin	Deputy Principal for Research and Impact				
Professor Malcolm Chrisp	Deputy Principal for Education and Student Life				
Professor Mercedes Maroto-Valer	Deputy Principal for Global Sustainability				
International Campuses		Appointed to:			
Professor Mushtak Al-Atabi	Vice-Principal and Provost Heriot-Watt University Malaysia	31/07/27			
Professor Dame Heather McGregor	Vice-Principal and Provost Heriot-Watt University Dubai	31/07/27			
Elected Deans of the University	-				
Dr Yvonne McLaren-Hankin	'Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences'	31/03/26			
Professor Mathini Sellathurai	'Science and Engineering'	31/12/23			
Dr Amos Haniff	'Pan-University Constituency'	31/12/23			
Heads of Primary Academic Unit	S				
Professor Ted Henry	Professor Ted Henry School of Energy, Geoscience, Infrastructure and Society (Acting)				
Professor Angus Laing	School of Social Sciences				
Professor Igor Guz	School of Engineering and Physical Sciences				
Professor Sara Lombardo	School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences				
Professor Fiona Waldron	School of Textiles and Design				
Professor Anna Fenge	Heriot-Watt Global College				
	nd Joint Committee of Senate and the Court	T			
Professor Fiona Waldron	University Committee for Quality and Standards	31/07/23			
Professor Fiona Waldron	Ordinances and Regulations Committee	31/07/23			
	Student Members				
Mr Scott Anderson	President, Student Union	31/05/23			
Ms Georgia Noble	Vice-President for Wellbeing, Student Union	31/05/23			
Ms Molly Knight	Vice-President for Education, Student Union	31/05/23			
Mr Syed Uzai	The President, Dubai Student Council 31/05/23				
Mr Saad Javed	A second Dubai Campus elected member 31/05/23				
Mr Ilya Dali	The President, Malaysia Student Association 31/05/23				
VACANCY	A second Malaysia Campus elected member -				
VACANCY	The Postgraduate Research Officer, Student Union	-			

Elected Staff Members School of Energy, Geoscience, Infrastructure and Society 12 Senators permitted to be elected from this Primary Academic Unit						
Dr Craig Kennedy	31/07/24					
Dr Ross Alexander	31/07/24					
Dr Helen Lewis	31/07/24					
Ms Cheng Siew Goh	31/07/24					
Dr Demitrios Cotsovos	31/07/25					
Dr Shameel Muhammed	31/07/25					
Dr Yasemin Nielsen	31/07/25					
Professor Joanne Porter *	31/07/25	Serving second successive term				
Dr Harpreet Seth	31/07/25					
Dr Dave Jenkins *	31/07/23	Serving second successive term				
Dr Airil Yasreen Mohd Yassin	31/07/23					
Dr Rabee Rustum	31/07/23					
School of Engineering and Physical Senators permitted to be elected		ary Academic Unit				
Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes				
Professor Mehdi Nazarinia *	31/07/23	Serving second successive term				
Professor Paul Dalgarno	31/07/24					
Dr Tze Cheun Yap	31/07/24					
Dr Ruaraidh Mcintosh	31/07/24					
Professor Helinor Johnston	31/07/24					
Dr Fadi Ghaith	31/07/24					
Dr Nasir Al Lagtah	31/07/25					
Dr Anne Bernassau	31/07/25					
Dr Florence Chiao Mei Choong	31/07/25					
Professor Annie Hill	31/07/25					
Professor Martin McCoustra	31/07/25					
Dr Richard McCracken	31/07/25					
Dr Hendrik Nahler	31/07/25					
Dr Humphrey Yiu	31/07/25					
Dr Bill MacPherson *	31/07/25					
School of Textiles and Design 5 Senators permitted to be elected to	from this Prima	ry Academic Unit				
Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes				
Dr David Cavallaro	31/07/23					
Dr Britta Kalkreuter	31/07/24					
Professor Julian Malins	31/07/24					
Dr Lucy Robertson	31/07/25					

Mr Lee Miles*	31/07/25	Serving second successive term	
		* not eligible for re-election at end of current term of office	
School of Social Sciences 14 Senators permitted to be elec	ted from this Prin	harv Academic I Init	
Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes	
Ms Elaine Collinson	31/07/23		
Dr Marlene Muller	31/07/23		
Dr Marion Winters *	31/07/24	Serving second successive term	
Dr Jose M Conde	31/07/24		
Dr Linda Buchan	31/07/24		
Dr Chris Rutherford	31/07/24		
Dr Cakil Agnew	31/07/24		
Dr Kathryn Waite *	31/07/24	Serving second successive term	
Dr Kirin Hilliar	31/07/24		
Dr Min-Hsiu Liao	31/07/24		
Dr Katerina Strani *	31/07/25	Serving second successive term	
Dr Ian Grant	31/07/25		
Dr Erkal Ersoy	31/07/25		
School of Mathematical and Co			
11 Senators permitted to be elec Senator's Name	Elected to	Notes	
Professor Dugald Duncan *	31/07/24	Serving second successive term	
Mr Larry O'Brien *	31/07/24	Serving second successive term	
	01/01/24		

IVII Larry O Drien	51/07/24	
Dr Christian Saemann	31/07/24	
Professor Hind Zantout	31/07/24	
Professor Lynne Baillie	31/07/23	
Dr Hani Ragab Hassen	31/07/23	
Mr Peter Ridges	31/07/23	
Dr Anke Wiese	31/07/23	
Professor Lehel Banjai	31/07/25	
Dr Alistair McConnell	31/07/25	
Dr Timothy Johnson	31/07/25	
	·	* not eligible for re-election at end of current term of office

In Attendance (can be varied from time to time) Representatives of Heriot Watt Global College (to 31 July 2023)						
Ms Teresa Lojzer	Ms Devanshi Sharma Mr Andrew Lee					
Ms Ruth Moir, University Secretary	Ms Sue Collier, Global I Legal Services	Director of Governance and				
Mr Paul Travill, Global Academic Registrar	Ms Kirsty Scanlan, Director of Strategic Planning and Performance					
Professor Martha Caddell, Director Learning and Mr Mark Hamid, Senior Govern Teaching Academy		Governance Officer (Clerk)				
Dr Maggie King, Head of Academic Quality						
Notes on compos	sition and membership					
 In accordance with the <u>Higher Education Governance (Second provided for in Statute 5</u> and the <u>Ordinances</u>, the Senate way that: (a) more than 50% of its members are either persons ap the academic Staff from among their own number, or elected by the Students of the institution from among institution; and 	e is constituted in such a opointed by being elected by r persons appointed by being	The present structure delivers capacit for 83 Senators, comprised of: 19 ex-officio positions; 8 members who are elected by the Students from among the Students; and 56 members who are elected by				

(b) at least 10% of its members are persons appointed by being elected by the Students of the institution from among the Students of the institution.

the academic Staff from among the academic Staff in Schools.