Communications and Radar

Microwave and Antenna Engineering Group student in lab

Microwave & Antenna Engineering Group

The Microwave and Antenna Engineering Group at Heriot-Watt University is pioneering the analysis design and testing of active and passive high frequency electronic components, subsystems and systems that provide innovative solutions in wireless terrestrial and satellite communication systems, electromagnetic imaging and sensing systems as well as medical, industrial and scientific applications of microwaves.

The group was established in 1971 by Prof. Joseph Helszjan and Prof. Alan Sangster who delivered key innovations in areas that include ferrite circulators as well as travelling wave antennas. The group is presently led by Prof. Jia-Sheng Hong and over the past few years has delivered significant advances in the areas of microwave filters, frequency selective surfaces and antennas.

Presently the group is performing research in collaboration with several leading industrial partners (SELEX, EADS Astrium, Thales Alenia Space, Huwaei, Bell Labs Alacatel-Lucent, BSC Filters, Space Engineering and others) supported by average annual grant income in excess of £1M from various governmental agencies (EPSRC, FP7, ESA, Royal Academy of Engineering) and industry.

For more information please see the Microwaves Group Website

Signal Processing for Intelligent Systems and Communications Research Group

SPCOM is led by Professor Mathini Sellathurai. For  more information please see the SPCOM page.

Advanced Wireless Technologies (AWiTec)

AWiTec is led by Prof. Cheng-Xiang Wang. For more information see the Advanced Wireless Technologies (AWiTec).

Key information

Jiasheng Hong