2011 Winners

2011 was the Inaugural year for the Heriot-Watt Principal's Public Engagement Prize. The awards ceremony was organised in collaboration with the Converge Challenge, and aim to recognise and support the ability of academics and early career researchers to demonstrate the most innovative and impactful event that engages with the new audiences and shows lasting impact.


Early Career Researcher Award: For her work with the EdSign series and the BSL users community and for her future potential, Dr Elaine Farrow, School of Management and Languages.

Individual Award: For his individual efforts to engage with wider public to develop useful cultural applications, Dr Stephano Padilla, Research Associate, School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences

Overall and team award: For their work in raising awareness of the cold-water corals on the Scottish coastal waters, their commitment to public engagement, sharing their learning with others and their work in raising the profile of Heriot-Watt's research, the Heriot-Watt University Principal's Public Engagement Award Group Category and Overall Winner went to Dr Murray Roberts and the Cold-water Coral Research Group, School of Life Sciences.