Services provided by our Disability Advisors include:

  • assessment of your individual support needs
  • advising on alternative examination arrangements
  • assistance in finding personal helpers for reading, scribing, tutoring
  • initial screening for dyslexia
  • arranging for Educational Psychologist assessments
  • support with making an application for Disabled Students' Allowance (for eligible UK students only)
  • assessments of technology requirements
  • on-going technical support
  • arranging study skills support.
  • Operate a drop-in service every Wednesday from 2-3pm.

Who to contact for help and advice

Lorraine Vallance, Disability Service Manager, 0131 451 3509, l.vallance@hw.ac.uk
Jay Kirkland, Disability Advisor, 0131 451 3519, j.kirkland@hw.ac.uk
Caroline West, Disability Advisor, 0131 451 4594, c.j.west@hw.ac.uk
Davinia Leslie, Assistant Disability Advisor, 0131 451 3786, d.leslie@hw.ac.uk
Murray Kendall, Technology Assistant, 0131 451 4349, m.kendall@hw.ac.uk

General enquiries and appointments: disability@hw.ac.uk