Nominations for Election to Senate

Nominations are now welcome (Wednesday 26 April to Friday 12 May 2017) for eleven positions on the Senate to represent the following four Schools:

Social Sciences (3 vacancies)
Mathematical and Computer Sciences (2 vacancies)
Energy, Geoscience, Infrastructure and Society (3 vacancies)
Engineering and Physical Sciences (3 vacancies)

Any member of our Academic Staff [1] with a permanent (that is, open-ended) appointment can stand for election as a Senator.  However you may only nominate, stand or vote for a position in your own School.  Nominations are welcome from colleagues from our campuses in Scotland, Dubai or Malaysia.

The terms of office for the Senate positions start on 1 August 2017 (and are for three years).


Senators are elected to help enhance the academic standards of the University and develop and monitor our academic strategies.  There are normally five meetings of the Senate each Session, and you can gain a flavour of the meetings online.  Senators are expected to take time to prepare in advance for meetings, and it is essential that each Senator maintains a high level of attendance at meetings and participates in debate.

From September 2017 meetings are proposed to take place in mornings (UK time) so as to better include colleagues based outwith the UK.

Induction to the role of Senator will be provided to successful candidates.

You are encouraged to consider standing for election as a Senator if you are motivated to influence and support the development and sustainability of the University in a central role, and are keen to apply your skills and experience in ways that will add value to the work of the University as a whole.  You must be able to devote sufficient time to the role.

The University continues to be committed to achieving greater diversity across the membership of all its committees, recognising for example, that women are often under-represented.  We recognise that governance is enhanced through diversity of membership as this ensures that a broad base of knowledge and experience is brought to our decision-making.  All eligible members of staff are therefore encouraged to participate in the election, with especial encouragement given to women and those colleagues with currently under-represented backgrounds and perspectives.


You are eligible to nominate, vote or stand for your School in this election, if you hold a contract as:

a permanent full-time or permanent part-time member of the Academic Staff; or
a research staff member on a permanent contract.

Any member of our Academic Staff from our campuses in Scotland, Dubai or Malaysia can stand for election as a Senator, however you may only nominate/stand/vote for your own School.  Ex-Officio members of the Senate (e.g. Heads of School or Deans) are not eligible to nominate, vote or stand for election.

If more than the maximum number of candidates are nominated for any of the Schools, then an election shall be held in May 2017.

Eligible colleagues will be emailed details for their ‘constituency’ at the end of April 2017.  Please contact Kate Wright if you are eligible to participate in the election, but have not received a direct email by 1 May 2017.


After serving an initial term of three years, a Senator shall be eligible to stand for election for immediate reappointment for one further period of up to three years.   Of those Senators whose terms of office expire in 2017, Professor Kenneth McKendrick and Dr Peter Kew will not be able to stand for re-election, the former as he will finish serving his second successive term; the latter as he is now a Dean of the University.


Nomination: forms are available from Wednesday 26 April 2017, and completed forms should be returned to John McDermott by Friday 12 May 2017 (4pm UK time).

Voting: this will take place between Wednesday 17 May and Wednesday 31 May 2017 (finishing 4pm UK time) and will use the single transferrable voting system.

Ordinance C1 governs these elections.   Please contact John McDermott (Officer of the Secretariat) for more information.

Ann Marie Dalton-Pillay
Secretary of the University
April 2017

[1] Academic staff currently employed by Heriot-Watt University, or a member of the Heriot-Watt Group.