Voting is now open in four Schools to elect colleagues to the Senate.

We have had a healthy response to the Call for Nominations, and this will mean that there will need to be an election held in each of the four Schools where positions will become vacant.  Unfortunately this will mean that some candidates will be disappointed, however their willingness to serve is admirable.

At close of nominations the following candidates were willing to serve:

School - Vacancies and Candidates
School Vacancies Candidates

Dr Harpreet Seth

Dr Khalik Sabil

Dr Gina Netto

Dr David Jenkins

Professor Teresa Fernandes

Professor Patrick Corbett

Dr James Buckman

Dr Ibrisam Akbar

Dr Thomas Ward

Dr Mehdi Nazarinia

Dr Jim Cameron

Dr Nasir Al Lagtah

Dr Hani Ragab Hassen

Dr Lyonell Boulton

Dr Tessa Berg
SoSS 3

Dr Marion Winters

Dr Mo Sherif

Dr James Richards

Dr Kevin Muldoon

Dr John-Paul Marney


You are eligible to vote in the election within your own School if you are a member of academic or research staff on an open-ended contract (full- or part-time).  Eligible colleague have been emailed ballot papers and supporting details.  Please contact Kate Wright if you are eligible to participate in the Election, but have not received a direct email.

More details on the Election (including Candidate Statements) are available at the bottom of the page.

Election ends

All completed ballot papers from each of the four Schools must be returned to Kate Wright before 4pm (UK time) on Wednesday 31 May 2017 (contact details on the Ballot Paper).

Election method and governance

The Single Transferable Voting System is used for these elections; the outcome of the election is intended to be announced on 2 June 2017 at the latest.

Ordinance C1 governs these elections, which are run under the auspices of the Secretary of the University.

Please contact Kate Wright or John McDermott for more information.