The University Committee for Quality and Standards is constituted as one of the Committees of Senate, and reports directly to the Senate, which is 'the governing body and executive body responsible for the academic work and standards of the University, both in teaching and in research, and for the regulation and superintendence of the education and discipline of the students of the University' (HWU Charter, Clause 9 (1)).

The purpose of the University Committee for Quality and Standards is to be responsible, on behalf of the Senate, for all aspects of academic quality assurance: progressing or engaging with institutional policy development; monitoring and review; oversight of the Quality Assurance Framework.


Chair: Professor Fiona Waldron, School of Textiles and Design - Head of School 
Clerk: Helen Crosby-Knox, Quality Assurance Manager


The Agendas and Minutes from the current and previous academic year for the University Committee for Quality and Standards can be found within the UCQS SharePoint site.


UCQS meeting dates

Current Year


  • 02 October 2017
  • 13 December 2017
  • 21 February 2018
  • 11 April 2018
  • 27 June 2018


Previous Years


  • 12 October 2016
  • 22 November 2016 (extra ordinary)
  • 14 December 2016
  • 15 February 2017
  • 26 April 2017
  • 27 June 2017