For all undergraduate student enquiries, please contact the EPS Student Support Office.

EPS Student Support
0131 451 4100
JN 1.09
epssso@hw.ac.uk

Heads of discipline for each subject area:

  • Dr Valeria Arrighi, Head of Chemistry discipline
  • Dr Julian Goodwin, Head of Chemical Engineering discipline
  • Dr Mathini Sellathurai, Head of EECE discipline
  • Dr Stephen Houston, Head of Mechanical Engineering discipline
  • Dr Bill MacPherson, Head of Physics discipline
  • Dr Alex Bell, Head of Combined Studies discipline
  • Peter Kew, Head of School Dubai

Student Support Administrators

All of the teaching administrators and secretaries can all be contacted in the EPS Student Support Office, NS 1.09.

  • Patricia Duncan, Teaching & Learning Manager
  • Amanda Lyness, Team Leader
  • Ryan Beattie, Administrative Assistant
  • Lyndsay Cassidy, PGT Co-ordinator
  • Christopher French, PGT Admissions
  • Irene Fox, Baku Higher Oil School
  • Jongky Harlim, Chemical Engineering
  • Lynn Hounsell, PGT (DL)
  • Josie Jones, Chemistry
  • Barbara Kerr, Mechanical Engineering
  • Sara McCormack, PGT Admissions
  • Sarah McGill, Administrative Assistant
  • Amanda McNeill, Engineers for the Future
  • Anna Mazur, Physics
  • Susie Murphy, Combined Studies
  • Carol Thomson, Bioscience and PGT Admissions
  • Karen Sinclair, PGT Programmes
  • Kim Smith, T & L Secretary
  • Susan White, Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering

For all enquiries, please contact the EPS Student Support Office.

EPS Student Support Office
Telephone: 0131 451 4100
Office: JN 1.09, James Naysmith Building
Email: epssso@hw.ac.uk

Academic staff lists (by research institute)

Academic staff from all of our institutes are involved in teaching and supporting our undergraduate and postgraduate students:

For detail - see lists of all academic staff by institute:

  • Institute of Chemical Sciences staff members
  • Institute of Biological Chemistry, Biophysics and Bio‑engineering staff members
  • Institute of Signals, Sensors and Systems staff members
  • Institute of Mechanical, Process and Energy Engineering staff members
  • Institute of Photonics and Quantum Sciences staff members

Other academic staff (not in an institute)

A few of our academic staff have particular teaching responsibilities and may not be listed in the institute staff lists above.  People who are directly associated with the school Teaching and Learning Organisation are listed below:

  • Dr Alexander Belyaev
  • Dr Dawn Beddard
  • Mr Ian Black
  • Peter Cumber
  • Dr Resh S. Dhariwal
  • Dr Julian Goodwin
  • Dr James McClean
  • Dr Reza Mohammadi
  • Dr Derek Wilkinson
  • Dr Peter Wilkinson

Staff profiles

Dawn Beddard

Job title
Assistant Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3879
Email
d.beddard@hw.ac.uk

Alexander Bell

Job title
Associate Director of Studies for Engineering
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3548
Email
a.bell@hw.ac.uk

Alexander Belyaev

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3437
Email
a.belyaev@hw.ac.uk

Keith Brown

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3351
Email
k.e.brown@hw.ac.uk

James Cameron

Job title
Director of Academic Quality and Deputy Director of Learning and Teaching
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3104
Email
j.h.cameron@hw.ac.uk

Resh S. Dhariwal

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3338
Email
r.s.dhariwal@hw.ac.uk

Julian Goodwin

Job title
Head of Chemical Engineering Teaching
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 4711
Email
j.a.s.goodwin@hw.ac.uk

Stephen Houston

Job title
Head of Mechanical Engineering Teaching Discipline;Senior Teaching Fellow
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3471
Email
s.d.houston@hw.ac.uk

Peter Kew

Job title
Associate Head of School
Phone
00971 4 4358711
Email
p.a.kew@hw.ac.uk

William N MacPherson

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3733
Email
w.n.macpherson@hw.ac.uk

Reza Mohammadi

Job title
Approved Lecturer
Phone
0131 451 8037
Email
r.mohammadi@hw.ac.uk

Gillian Thomson

Job title
Director of Learning and Teaching
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 8307
Email
g.b.thomson@hw.ac.uk

Peter Wilkinson

Job title
p/t Lecturer
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 4332
Email
p.wilkinson@hw.ac.uk