Head of Institute

Head : Prof. Bob Reuben

Susan Ogden - Administrative Assistant to Head of Institute
Email: s.ogden@hw.ac.uk
Telephone: 0131 451 3197


Jin Xuan


Assistant Professor

+44 (0)131 451 3293
Room 2.16
James Nasmyth Building
Heriot-Watt University
Roles and responsibilities

Research field

Microfluidics, microreactors and microsystem for energy and carbon conversions


B59AC: Automotive Technologies (Course leader)
B51GE: Renewable Energy Technologies
B57AU: Introduction to Mechanical Engineering
B59ES: Energy Studies
B50DG: Engineering Design
B50DH: Engineering Manufacture
B50PA: Project 1

I am also committed to teaching innovation and joined the EPS teaching innovation work group


Dr Xuan’s research interests include microfluidics, microreactor and micro-systems for energy and carbon conversion via novel chemical, electrochemical and photocatalysis reactions. His group leverages the unique fluid and transport phenomena at microscale to realise new functions that would hardly be obtained in a conventional reaction or process system.

He has published 1 edited book, 60+. journal papers (including 4 Invited Articles, 2 ‘ESI 1% Highly Cited Papers’, 1 ‘Top 25 Hottest Article’ and 1 ‘Most Cited Article‘), 50+ conference papers, filed 10+ US, international and Chinese patents, and delivered 6 invited speeches in leading conferences. He is currently a member of EPSRC Peer Review College and Panel Member for the British Council’s Newton Fund Scheme. He has been the Evaluator of 50+ research proposals for funding agencies in UK, U.S.A., Qatar, Philippines and China. He served as Organizing Committee Member for conferences such as CRITICAT Photocatalysis Advanced Workshop (2016, Edinburgh), Fluid & Aerodynamics Summit (2016, London), and Energy Materials & Nanotechnology Meeting (2016, Dubai). He is an Associate Editor of Frontiers in Environmental Science, Guest Editor of Micro and Nanosystems, and an active Reviewer for 20+ leading journals such as Journal of Power Sources and Chemical Engineering Journal.

His research is widely funded by EPSRC, EU H2020, SFC, industrial sponsors, etc, with total £3M+ grants as PI and CoI. This includes a recent £1.8M EPSRC low carbon fuel project (EP/N009924/1), where he is a Co-I and work package leader for CO2 electro-reduction. He leads the HWU team in the EU H2020 project (RDC2MT) for fuel cell technology. He is also the PI of a Global Innovation Initiative (GII) project for CO2-to-fuel microreactors with Yale University, Shell, and Chinese Academy of Sciences, the PI of Scotland-Hong Kong Strategic Research Collaboration Program and the PI of an Energy Technology Partnership Grant.

Selected publications

Eds. Leung DYC, Xuan J, Micro & Nano-Engineering of Fuel Cells, CRC Press Taylor & Francis, USA, 2014, ISBN 9780415644396.

Lu X, Leung DYC, Wang H, Leung MKH, Xuan J*, Electrochemical reduction of carbon dioxide to formic acid, ChemElectroChem, 2014, 1: 836-849.

Wang H, Gu S, Leung DYC, Xu H, Leung MHK, Zhang L, Xuan J*, Development and characteristics of a membraneless microfluidic fuel cell array, Electrochimica Acta, 2014, 135: 467-477.

Wang B, Zhang H, Lu X, Xuan J, Leung MKH, Solar photocatalytic fuel cell using CdS-TiO2 photoanode and air-breathing cathode for wastewater treatment and simultaneous electricity production, Chemical Engineering Journal, 2014, 253: 174-182.

Zhang H, Xuan J*, Xu H, Leung MKH, Leung DYC, Zhang L, Wang H, Wang L, Enabling high-concentrated fuel operation of fuel cells with microfluidic principles: A feasibility study, Applied Energy 2013; 112, 1131–1137.

Xuan J*, Wang H, Leung DYC, Leung MKH, Xu H, Zhang L, Shen Y, Theoretical Graetz-Damköhler modeling of air-breathing microfluidic fuel cell, Journal of Power Sources 2013; 231: 1-5.


Dr. Jin Xuan obtained his PhD degree in Mechanical Engineering from The University of Hong Kong in 2012. He was a visiting researcher in The University of Hong Kong and City University of Hong Kong during 2012-2014. In 2014, he moved his academic career to U.K., taking his current position in Heriot-Watt University.