Head of Discipline for Chemistry

Valeria Arrighi


Staff by Sections

Inorganic Chemistry

Alan Welch

Jan-Willem Bos

James Cameron

Scott Dalgarno

Gareth Lloyd

Stuart Macgregor

Stephen Mansell 

Ruaraidh McIntosh

Organic Chemistry

Dave Adams

Euan Brown

Graeme Barker

Magnus Bebbington

Nicola Howarth

Arno Kraft

Ai-Lan Lee

Nick Leslie

Kevin McCullough

Colin Rickman

Filipe Vilela

Physical Chemistry

Ken McKendrick

Valeria Arrighi

David Bucknall

Matt Costen

Stuart Greaves

Maciej Gutowski

Martin McCoustra

N Hendrik Nahler

Martin Paterson

Experimental Officers and Administrative Staff

Dave Ellis

Georgina Rosair

Placement Coordinators

Industrial:  Scott Dalgarno

Honorary and Emeritus Staff

John Parker

Joe Pfab

Georgina Rosair

BSc, MSc, PhD, CChem, MRSC

Experimental Officer, X-Ray Diffraction

+44 (0)131 451 8036
Room G.03
William Perkin Building
Heriot-Watt University
Roles and responsibilities
  • Service Manager for: Single Crystal X-ray Crystallography, Powder X-ray Diffraction & Mass Spectroscopy
  • Colleague responsible for Second & Third Year Inorganic Laboratory classes
  • Secretary of the European Crystallographic Association (2012 - 2018)
  • Perkin Building Radiation Protection Supervisor
  • Perkin Safety Committee: Secretary and Analytical Representative
Selected publications
  1. 'Polymorphism and benzene solvent controlled stimuli responsive reversible fluorescence switching in triphenylphosphoniumfluorenylide crystals', P. S. Hariharan, M. B. Mariyatra, E. M. Mothi, A. Neels, G. Rosair and S. P. Anthony, New Journal of Chemistry, 2017, 41, 4592-4598.
  2. ‘Carborane Substituents Promote Direct Electrophilic Insertion over Reduction-Metalation Reactions’, W. Y. Man, D. Ellis, G. M. Rosair and A. J. Welch, Angew. Chem.-Int. Edit., 2016, 55, 4596-4599.
  3. 'Novel silver (l) complexes of coumarin oxyacetate ligands and their phenanthroline adducts: Biological activity, structural and spectroscopic characterisation', M. Mujahid, N. Trendafilova, A. F. Arfa-Kia, G. Rosair, K. Kavanagh, M. Devereux, M. Walsh, S. McClean, B. S. Creaven and I. Georgieva, J. Inorg. Biochem., 2016, 163, 53-67.
  4. ‘Large, weakly basic bis (Carboranyl) Phosphines: an experimental and computational study', L. E. Riley, T. Kramer, C. L. McMullin, D. Ellis, G. M. Rosair, I. B. Sivaevc and A. J. Welch, Dalton Transactions, 2017, 46, 5218-5228.
  5. 14-Vertex Heteroboranes with 14 Skeletal Electron Pairs: An Experimental and Computational Study’, A. P. M. Robertson, N. A. Beattie, G. Scott, W. Y. Man, J. J. Jones, S. A. Macgregor, G. M. Rosair and A. J. Welch, Angew. Chem.-Int. Edit., 2016, 55, 8706-8710.
  6. ‘Balancing Steric and Electronic Effects in Carbonyl-Phosphine Molybdacarboranes', A. P. M. Robertson, A. Reckziegel, J. J. Jones, G. M. Rosair and A. J. Welch, European Journal of Inorganic Chemistry, 2017, DOI: 10.1002/ejic.201700492, 4581-4588.
  7. Double deboronation and homometalation of 1, 1'-bis (ortho-carborane)', G. Thiripuranathar, A. P. Y. Chan, D. Mandal, W. Y. Man, M. Argentari, G. M. Rosair and A. J. Welch, Dalton Transactions, 2017, 46, 1811-1821.