For further information about our academic staff please use the list of staff by research theme below.

Head of Institute

Deputy Head

  • Prof. Brian Gerardot
    Quantum Photonics and Quantum Information

Quantum Photonics and Quantum Information

  • Prof. Patrik Öhberg 
  • Prof. Erika Andersson
  • Dr Cristian Bonato
  • Prof. Gerald S. Buller
  • Dr Xianzhong Chen
  • Dr Alessandro Fedrizzi 
  • Dr Marcello Ferrera
  • Dr Erik Gauger
  • Dr Michael Hartmann
  • Prof. Brian Gerardot (Deputy Director)
  • Dr Jonathan Leach
  • Prof. Carl R. Pidgeon

Ultrafast Photonics

  • Prof. Derryck Reid
  • Dr Fabio Biancalana
  • Dr Maria Ana Cataluna
  • Prof. Daniele Faccio 
  • Prof. Ian Galbraith
  • Prof. Ajoy Kar
  • Dr Mohammed F Saleh
  • Prof. Mohammad R. Taghizadeh
  • Prof. Robert Thomson
  • Dr Dave Townsend
  • Dr John Travers

Applied Photonics

  • Prof. Andrew Moore
  • Prof. Daniel Esser
  • Prof. Duncan P. Hand
  • Dr William N. MacPherson
  • Dr Robert R.J. Maier
  • Dr Jonathan Shephard
  • Dr Wei Wang
  • Dr Xu Wang

 

Associate Institute Members

  • Dr Weiping Lu (Primary Institute IB3)
  • Dr Paul Dalgarno (Primary Institute IB3)
  • Dr Nick Bennett (Primary Institute IMPEE)

Emeritus (in residence)

Prof. Howard J. Baker 
Prof. Bob Harrison
Prof. John Wilson

Our searchable 'people finder' facility allows you to find contact details for all other staff. Key institute contact details are also available on our contacts page.

A-Z - academic staff listed by surname

Staff profiles

Alessandro Fedrizzi

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3649
Email
a.fedrizzi@hw.ac.uk

Cristian Bonato

Job title
Assistant Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3470
Email
c.bonato@hw.ac.uk

Maria Ana Cataluna

Phone
+44 (0)131 451 8398
Email
m.cataluna@hw.ac.uk

John Travers

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 4039
Email
j.travers@hw.ac.uk

Erika Andersson

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3653
Email
e.andersson@hw.ac.uk

Howard J. Baker

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3081
Email
h.j.baker@hw.ac.uk

Fabio Biancalana

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3773
Email
f.biancalana@hw.ac.uk

Gerald S. Buller

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3069
Email
g.s.buller@hw.ac.uk

X Chen

Job title
Assistant Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3802
Email
x.chen@hw.ac.uk

Daniel Esser

Job title
Laser Device Physics and Engineering
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3085
Email
m.j.d.esser@hw.ac.uk

Daniele Faccio

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3645
Email
d.faccio@hw.ac.uk

Marcello Ferrera

Job title
Assistant Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3650
Email
m.ferrera@hw.ac.uk

Ian Galbraith

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3066
Email
i.galbraith@hw.ac.uk

Erik Gauger

Job title
Research Fellow
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3345
Email
e.gauger@hw.ac.uk

Brian D Gerardot

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 8069
Email
b.d.gerardot@hw.ac.uk

Denis R. Hall

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3081
Email
d.r.hall@hw.ac.uk

Duncan P Hand

Job title
Director of Research
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3020
Email
d.p.hand@hw.ac.uk

Michael Hartmann

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 8220
Email
m.j.hartmann@hw.ac.uk

Mats Jonson

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 4333
Email
m.jonson@hw.ac.uk

Ajoy Kar

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3049
Email
a.k.kar@hw.ac.uk

Jonathan Leach

Job title
Assistant Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 4174
Email
j.leach@hw.ac.uk

William N MacPherson

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3733
Email
w.n.macpherson@hw.ac.uk

Andrew Moore

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 8068
Email
a.moore@hw.ac.uk

Patrik Öhberg

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 8184
Email
p.ohberg@hw.ac.uk

Carl R. Pidgeon

Job title
Professor Emeritus
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 4333
Email
c.r.pidgeon@hw.ac.uk

Derryck T. Reid

Job title
Head of Photonics and Quantum Sciences Research Institute; Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3652
Email
d.t.reid@hw.ac.uk

Mohammed F. Saleh

Job title
Research Fellow
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3033
Email
m.saleh@hw.ac.uk

Mohammad R. Taghizadeh

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3067
Email
m.taghizadeh@hw.ac.uk

Michael Tanner

Job title
Research Fellow
Phone
+44 (0)131 242 9180
Email
m.tanner@hw.ac.uk

Robert R Thomson

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3291
Email
r.r.thomson@hw.ac.uk

Dave Townsend

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3794
Email
d.townsend@hw.ac.uk