For further information about our academic staff please use the list of staff by research theme below.

Head of Institute

Deputy Head

Quantum Photonics and Quantum Information

Ultrafast Photonics

Applied Photonics

 

Associate Institute Members

Emeritus (in residence)

Prof. Howard J. Baker 
Prof. Bob Harrison
Prof. John Wilson

Our searchable 'people finder' facility allows you to find contact details for all other staff. Key institute contact details are also available on our contacts page.

A-Z - academic staff listed by surname

Staff profiles

Ajoy Kar

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3049
Email
a.k.kar@hw.ac.uk

Alessandro Fedrizzi

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3649
Email
a.fedrizzi@hw.ac.uk

Andrew Moore

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 8068
Email
a.moore@hw.ac.uk

Andy C. Walker

Job title
Senior Deputy Principal

Brendon Lovett

Job title
Royal Society Research Fellow
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 8220
Email
b.lovett@hw.ac.uk

Brian D Gerardot

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 8069
Email
b.d.gerardot@hw.ac.uk

Brian S. Wherrett

Job title
Director of Support and Resources
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3039
Email
b.s.wherrett@hw.ac.uk

Bryce Richards

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3614
Email
b.s.richards@hw.ac.uk

Carl R. Pidgeon

Job title
Professor Emeritus
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 4333
Email
c.r.pidgeon@hw.ac.uk

Cristian Bonato

Job title
Assistant Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3470
Email
c.bonato@hw.ac.uk

Daniel Esser

Job title
Laser Device Physics and Engineering
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3085
Email
m.j.d.esser@hw.ac.uk

Daniele Faccio

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3645
Email
d.faccio@hw.ac.uk

Dave Townsend

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3794
Email
d.townsend@hw.ac.uk

Dawn Beddard

Job title
Assistant Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3879
Email
d.beddard@hw.ac.uk

Denis R. Hall

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3081
Email
d.r.hall@hw.ac.uk

Derryck T. Reid

Job title
Head of Photonics and Quantum Sciences Research Institute; Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3652
Email
d.t.reid@hw.ac.uk

Duncan P Hand

Job title
Director of Research
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3020
Email
d.p.hand@hw.ac.uk

Erik Gauger

Job title
Research Fellow
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3345
Email
e.gauger@hw.ac.uk

Erika Andersson

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3653
Email
e.andersson@hw.ac.uk

Fabio Biancalana

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3773
Email
f.biancalana@hw.ac.uk

Gerald S. Buller

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3069
Email
g.s.buller@hw.ac.uk

Henry T. Bookey

Job title
RSE/Scottish Govt Research Fellow
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3047
Email
h.t.bookey@hw.ac.uk

Howard J. Baker

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3081
Email
h.j.baker@hw.ac.uk

Ian Galbraith

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3066
Email
i.galbraith@hw.ac.uk

J. Graham Crowder

Job title
Head of Physics Teaching Discipline; Senior Teaching Fellow
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3051
Email
j.g.crowder@hw.ac.uk

James S. Barton

Job title
Honorary Reader
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3084
Email
j.s.barton@hw.ac.uk

John Travers

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 4039
Email
j.travers@hw.ac.uk

John Wilson

Job title
Professor

Jonathan Leach

Job title
Assistant Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 4174
Email
j.leach@hw.ac.uk

Jonathan Shephard

Job title
RCUK Fellow/Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 4343
Email
j.d.shephard@hw.ac.uk

Julian D.C. Jones

Job title
Vice-Principal
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3031
Email
j.jones@hw.ac.uk

Kevin Prior

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3035
Email
k.a.prior@hw.ac.uk

Marcello Ferrera

Job title
Assistant Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3650
Email
m.ferrera@hw.ac.uk

Maria Ana Cataluna

Phone
+44 (0)131 451 8398
Email
m.cataluna@hw.ac.uk

Mats Jonson

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 4333
Email
m.jonson@hw.ac.uk

Michael Hartmann

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 8220
Email
m.j.hartmann@hw.ac.uk

Michael Tanner

Job title
Research Fellow
Phone
+44 (0)131 242 9180
Email
m.tanner@hw.ac.uk

Mikhail Titov

Job title
Lecturer
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 4174
Email
m.titov@hw.ac.uk

Mohammad R. Taghizadeh

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3067
Email
m.taghizadeh@hw.ac.uk

Mohammed F. Saleh

Job title
Research Fellow
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3033
Email
m.saleh@hw.ac.uk

Nikolaus Klaus Metzger

Job title
Assistant Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 4188
Email
k.metzger@hw.ac.uk

Patrik Öhberg

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 8184
Email
p.ohberg@hw.ac.uk

Robert Hadfield

Job title
Reader
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3055
Email
r.h.hadfield@hw.ac.uk

Robert R Thomson

Job title
Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3291
Email
r.r.thomson@hw.ac.uk

Robert RJ Maier

Job title
Assistant Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3084
Email
r.r.j.maier@hw.ac.uk

Sabrina Maniscalco

Job title
Reader
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3053
Email
s.maniscalco@hw.ac.uk

Wei Wang

Job title
Lecturer
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3141
Email
w.wang@hw.ac.uk

William N MacPherson

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3733
Email
w.n.macpherson@hw.ac.uk

X Chen

Job title
Assistant Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3802
Email
x.chen@hw.ac.uk

Xu Wang

Job title
Associate Professor
Phone
+44 (0)131 451 3775
Email
x.wang@hw.ac.uk