Students earn bursary awards



Amirsaman Rezaeyan (left) receiving his award.

One of the most prominent organisations in the oil and gas industry has awarded bursaries to a group of talented students at Heriot-Watt University.

A total of eight students from the Institute of GeoEnergy Engineering were recently awarded individual bursaries ranging from £500 to £3,000 by The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Aberdeen Section.

The programme has been running for more than 35 years and in the last ten years alone, has awarded approximately £200,000 of financial support. Although the majority of applications tend to come from petroleum engineering students, the field of studies this year covered a wide range that included industry management, economics and law.

Professor Eric Mackay, Director of the Institute of GeoEnergy Engineering at Heriot-Watt University, congratulated all recipients, saying: “It is fantastic for so many of our students to be recognised with these bursaries, which will aid them in their studies.

“We have a rich talent of students at this university who really are the future of the energy industry.”

The SPE is the largest individual-member organisation serving managers, engineers, scientists and other professionals worldwide in the oil and gas industry.

Kenny McAllister, SPE Aberdeen Chairman said: “We are delighted to once again support our industry’s next generation, particularly during a time when such huge emphasis is being placed upon nurturing future talent.

“The amount of financial support our section has been able to provide for bursary awards over the years is tremendous. This is made possible not only through the dedication of our volunteers, but also the support from our event sponsors and delegates who help to provide the funds we use to support our STEM initiatives.

“On behalf of SPE Aberdeen, I’d like to congratulate each of the winning students and wish them all the best in their future studies.”

The following students were awarded a £3,000 bursary:

  • Sam Head
  • Xiang Shi

The following were awarded £1000 each:

  • Amanzhol Kubeyev
  • Amirsaman Rezaeyan
  • Mark Ashworth
  • Nicolás Manuel Sosa
  • Yevgeniya Morrice

The following was awarded £500:

  • Nengi Karibi-Botoye