Teaching Excellence Awards - Introducing our 2018/19 winners!



The Annual Teaching Excellence Awards celebrate colleagues who are making a significant contribution to supporting student learning across the University.

  • The University Award for Teaching Innovation is presented to individuals or teams who have demonstrated innovative approaches to learning and teaching within their discipline area.
  • The University's Global Learning and Teaching Award is awarded to colleagues who have made a significant contribution to the enhancement of the global student learning experience. 

In addition the University offers a Teaching Excellence Award to staff working on either of the University's two Foundation Programmes – the Degree Entry Programme (Dubai) and the Malaysia Foundation Programme (Malaysia) - to an individual or team who have demonstrated successful innovation in supporting students in their acquisition of the University's Graduate Attributes

A panel comprised of the Deputy Principal (Learning and Teaching), the Assistant Deputy Principal and the Deputy Vice Principals from Dubai and Malaysia met to consider the shortlist. After a careful analysis of all nominations, the panel selected the winners in each category.

Professor John Sawkins, Deputy Principal (Learning and Teaching) and Chair of the panel said: “The Panel was very pleased to see the quality and range of innovative and collaborative work that is being undertaken across the University. The University is proud to recognise the dedication, talent, enthusiasm and commitment to delivering the very best to support our students in their learning.”

The awards will be presented to winners at the summer graduation ceremonies.

Congratulations to all the winners for this year's Teaching Excellence Awards 2018/19. 

University Award for Global Learning and Teaching


Wolf Fruh, Edinburgh Campus

Mounif Abdallah, Dubai Campus

Vinod Kumar Venkiteswaran, Malaysia Campus

University Award for Teaching Innovation


Edinburgh Business School 

Colin Garvie, Shai Davidov, Gerry Reilly, Alex Lumsden, Mary Jane Bennett, Martha Gibson, Roddy Munro, Kara Johnston, Lucy Kendra

School of Engineering and Physical Sciences, Malaysia Campus

Voon Loong Wong

School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences

Des Johnston, Panagiota Adamopoulou, Christian Saemann, Robert Weston, Dominic Breit,  Kevin Painter, Sebastien Loisel, Andrew Lacey, Mariya, Ptashnyk,Neil MacIntyre, Louie Roberston, Lee Duncan

School of Social Sciences

Fanny Chouc, Jose M Conde

School of Textiles and Design

Cath Fenton

Malaysia Foundation Programme, Malaysia Campus

Andrew Lee, Jayamalar Francis.