Students earn major accolade in national competition



Heriot-Watt University Malaysia (HWUM) students have earned a top 10 finish at the recent National ChemE-Car Competition.

Now in its 14th year, the National Chem-E-Car Competition is organised by the Chemical Engineering Technical Division of the Institution of Engineers Malaysia (IEM) and held at Kuala Lumpur Malaysian Institute of Chemical & Bio-Engineering Technology (UniKL, MiCET).

The Chem-E Car Competition challenges university students to design and construct a shoebox-sized car that is powered by a chemical energy source.

The students' Chem-E car must carry a certain load of water to a given distance, hit a ball or bowling pins and then stop autonomously.

Cars are judged based on their ability to complete aforementioned tasks, design creativity and issues related to safety, environment and health.

This year, there were 65 teams from local and international universities (Indonesia and Poland), who took part including seven teams from Heriot-Watt Malaysia.

Three of these teams were shortlisted for the national level competition at UniKL, MiCET.

They were:

Team  Element 7831 (Top 6th ChemEcar Winner Award)

Irene Teo Lui Ruen (Year 2, Chemical Engineering)
Lum King Yee (Year 2, Mechanical Engineering)
Lee Ci Wei (Year 2, Chemical Engineering)
Kang Jia Jun (Year 2, Electrical & Electronic Engineering)

Team JORI (Top 7th ChemEcar Winner Award)

Jannis Wacker (Year 2, Mechanical l Engineering)
Ross Aidan Lee Teck Soon (Year 2, Chemical Engineering)
Ooi Wu Jie (Year 2, Chemical Engineering)
Isaac Ng Chin Ang (Year 2, Chemical Engineering)

Team AerChemE (13th Place)

Edmund Thoy Jin Wen (Year 3, Electrical & Electronic Engineering)
Yeu Xue Ying (Year 3, Electrical & Electronic Engineering)
Wong Si Ying (Year 1, Chemical Engineering)
Lim Qiu Hua (Year 1, Chemical Engineering)

The teams were supervised by HWUM academic, Assistant Professor Dr. Wong Voon Loong. 

Throughout the competition, Indonesian teams swept the top 1st to 5th place prizes while Heriot-Watt teams were the top achievers among the Malaysian Institutions.