Winning delight for young musical stars of the future



The winners of the Rotary Young Musician of the Year were announced at Heriot-Watt University, on Saturday.

It was the first time, the university hosted the national final, which included some of the most talented young musicians from across the UK and Ireland.

Ellis Thomas from Colwyn Bay took the top prize in the Instrumental group, while Angelina Dorlin-Barlow from Southport, came first in the Vocalist category.

The grand final was hosted by the Rotary Club of Currie Balerno and held on campus in The James Watt Auditorium.

Steve King, Director of Music, Heriot-Watt University, said: “Congratulations to everyone involved in this national competition.

“The musical talent on show was simply tremendous, and there's no doubt, that these young people will be our musical stars of the future.”

Other winners announced on the day included:

Eve Pearson Maxwell from Ardrishaig, second vocalist

Abbie Ward from Shenfield, Third vocalist

Poppy McGhee from Somerset, Second instrumental

Berniya Hamie from Brighton & Hove, Third instrumental