Scientist awarded major prize



Dr Babette Hoogakker

A leading scientist from Heriot-Watt University has been recognised for her groundbreaking research that sheds new light on Earth's hidden past.

Dr Babette Hoogakker is one of just 30 academics to receive the prestigious Philip Leverhulme Prize.

I feel honoured and am absolutely delighted to have been offered a Philip Leverhulme Prize.

Dr Babette Hoogakker, Lyell Research Fellow at Heriot-Watt University

Included in the Prize is a £100,000 grant that Dr Hoogakker will contribute to her research on past Earth's climate change.

Dr Hoogakker, Lyell Research Fellow at Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh, said: “I feel honoured and am absolutely delighted to have been offered a Philip Leverhulme Prize.

“This will enable me to advance my research into the chemistry of the oceans over thousands of years. In particular, I will be able to investigate the cycling of carbon in the ocean since the last ice age.”

Philip Leverhulme Prizes recognise the achievement of outstanding researchers whose work has attracted international recognition.

Every year the prize scheme makes up to 30 awards of £100,000, across a range of academic disciplines.

Philip Leverhulme Prizes have been offered since 2001 in commemoration of the contribution to the work of the Trust made by Philip Leverhulme, the Third Viscount Leverhulme and grandson of William Hesketh Lever, the founder of the Trust. It has grown to become one of the largest all-subject providers of research funding in the UK, distributing approximately £80m a year.

The Prize comes during Heriot-Watt University's Year of the Sea,  a calendar of engagement spanning schools, the public, academia, industry collaborators, funders and policymakers.

Keep up-to-date with Year of the Sea on Twitter @HWU_Seas, and across all channels using #yearofsea2018, and visit