Institute of Physics Award for Professor Julian Jones



Professor Julian Jones

Professor Julian Jones has been announced as one of two recipients of the 2015 Phillips Award for distinguished service to the Institute of Physics.

The award is given annually for innovative ideas or activities that have made a major contribution to IOP objectives; a leading role in one or more of the Institute’s groups, divisions or branches; a leading role in the IOP’s Council, boards or committees; or a significant contribution to the external influence of the IOP.

Professor Jones OBE, Acting Principal of Heriot-Watt University and a Fellow of the IOP, is honorary treasurer of the Institute. He is a member of Council and has previously chaired the IOP’s Optics and Photonics Division, the Optical Group, the Institute of Physics in Scotland and the IOP’s Scottish Education Committee. He has been a member of the Institute’s Education Board and its External Affairs Committee. He was also editor of the IOP’s Journal of Measurement Science and Technology from 1992 to 1999.

The IOP’s incoming president, Professor Roy Sambles, will present the awards to Professor Jones and to the second recipient, Professor James Hough, at the Institute’s Awards Dinner in November.