Heriot-Watt professor receives international award

Professor John Underhill with Dr Gladys Gonzalez, EAGE President

Professor John Underhill received the Alfred Wegener Award from the European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers (EAGE) at a ceremony in Amsterdam on June 16.

Alfred Wegener Award 

The Alfred Wegener Award is presented to a member of EAGE who has made an outstanding contribution over a period of time to the scientific and technical advancement of one or more of the disciplines in the Association, particularly petroleum geoscience and engineering.

Professor Underhill, who holds the position of Shell Chair of Exploration Geoscience, said his main research studies had been to understand the formation and evolution of sedimentary basins through the integration of geological and geophysical methods especially through combining seismic interpretation and field geology.

He said, "My particular goal in my teaching and research is to inform, educate and inspire the next generation of applied geoscientists in the application of structural geology, sedimentology and stratigraphy to aid the safe and sustainable search for hydrocarbons."

Professor Steve Chapman, Principal of Heriot-Watt University, said the award was another boost at a time when the University was building its Geoscience capability. "We now have a Centre for Exploration Geoscience, the Natural Environment Research Council (NERC)-backed UK Centre for Doctoral Training (CDT) and the British Geological Survey's move across to join us in setting up the Sir Charles Lyell Centre for Earth and Marine Science & Technology.

"Together these initiatives will enable a new generation of PhD students in oil and gas training and research to be developed and an exciting new phase of marine and earth science to be undertaken in Scotland."

The award was made as part of the EAGE's 76th annual conference which attracted more than 7000 attendees from a worldwide membership of more than 18,500.