Students receive Jim Boyack Memorial Trust awards

Vanessa Honore and Ashleigh-Gayle Murray receive their cheques from the Jim Boyack Memorial Trust for £750 each from Professor Angela Hull, Head of Planning, Heriot-Watt University

Two Heriot-Watt planning students were the recipients of a 2012  Jim Boyack Memorial Trust award. Vanessa Honore and Ashleigh-Gayle Murray, were presented with cheques for £750   from Professor Angela Hull, Head of Planning in the  School of the Built Environment.

Vanessa is a part-time student on their MSc, having previously gained a BSc in Ecological Sciences, she is a mature student and has previously worked as an energy advisor. She plans to offer herself for voluntary work whilst completing her studies. Ashleigh-Gayle is a final year student on the BSc course, and will use the award to assist with financing her final year.

A further part of the bursary for both beneficiaries will be a place, sponsored by the RTPI in Scotland, at the Young Planner's Conference in spring 2013

About the Jim Boyack Memorial Trust

The Memorial Trust was established in memory of Jim Boyack, Senior Vice President of the RTPI Scottish Branch at the time of his death in August 1990, in gratitude for his life and distinguished work, enthusiasm and contribution towards the planning profession in Scotland. Jim was passionate about the planning profession and the role it could play in creating a more inclusive and sustainable society. He also believed in encouraging young planners to become involved in the Institute and to contribute fresh ideas to help the profession evolve and remain relevant to the changing demands placed upon it.

Since 1993 the Trust has made twenty annual awards disbursing some £15,000. Studying for a planning degree takes dedication and requires significant financial outlay. The award has eased this financial burden for twenty three young people, allowing them to progress their studies with greater confidence and security.