Computer Science students recognised by Scott Logic

Left to right: Marc Fraser, Laura McCormack, Jamie Johnstone, Lewis Mclean, Dean Bathgate.

Six outstanding students from the Computer Science department were presented with Scott Logic's Excellence in Computer Science Awards during a reception at the Edinburgh Campus on 13 February.

Scott's Logic Head of Delivery, Simon Foley; Jesse Beaumont, Technical Architect and Steven Shiells, Developer  joined Monica Farrow, Director of Studies for third year in Computer Science in the School of Mathematics and Computer Science, for the ceremony. The awards recognise the top undergraduates in the 3rd year of the undergraduate Computer Science programme based on academic performance.

The winning students were Marc Fraser, Lewis Mclean, Freddy Yen, Dean Bathgate, Laura McCormack and Jamie Johnstone.

The team from Scott Logic spoke about their company and opportunities for graduates. Stephen Shiells, a graduate from the department, spoke about his experience with the company so far. The team then demonstrated their innovative suite of Shinobi iOS tools, which provide the ability to create impressive interactive charts and grids in applications for iPhones and iPads.

Monica Farrow thanked Scott Logic for their continued support to the Computer Science department. Scott Logic has offered internships to several MEng Software Engineering students and employs some of the department's recent graduates. We look forward to future associations with Scott Logic.