Awards for Petroleum Engineering academics

Dr Khafiz Muradov and Professor David Davies from the Insitute of Petroleum Engineering have been awarded the Cedric K. Ferguson 2012 Award from the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE).

Dr Muradov has been elected as 2012 recipient of the Cedric K. Ferguson Medal for his paper "Novel Analytical Methods of Temperature Interpretation in Horizontal Wells". His co-author, Professor David Davies will receive the Cedric K. Ferguson Certificate.

The award recognizes professional achievement in petroleum engineering. The SPE considers all papers published in SPE journals by SPE members younger than 36 and presents the award for the best paper.

Both will receive recognition at the Society's Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition which will take place 8-10 October 2012, San Antonio, Texas, USA.