Professor Des Smith awarded Royal Medal by the Royal Society of Edinburgh

The Duke of Edinburgh presents Professor Des Smith with his Royal Society of Edinburgh Royal Medal

Professor Des Smith, who set up the Heriot-Watt University Department of Physics at the Edinburgh Campus in the 1970s and founded spin-out Edinburgh Instruments Ltd, has been presented with a prestigious Royal Society of Edinburgh Royal Medal by the Duke of Edinburgh.

Professor Smith was recognised for his eminent work in physics research, especially in optoelectronics, spectroscopy and laser technology and its application in industry and research technology.

President of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, Lord Wilson of Tillyorn, said: "It was a very great pleasure to welcome HRH The Duke of Edinburgh to the Royal Society of Edinburgh today to present the Society's Royal Medals and the Maxwell Award. These are our highest accolades. It is a double pleasure because this year marks the 60th anniversary of The Duke's election as an Honorary Fellow of the Society. We greatly appreciate the interest HRH has taken in the Society over the years and his personal involvement in the presentation of these prestigious awards".

The Royal Society of Edinburgh's Royal Medals were instituted by the Queen to mark the millennium and recognise outstanding achievement in all intellectual fields. Previous recipients have included Nobel Laureates Sir James Black and Sir James Mirrlees, as well as the distinguished Scottish historian Professor Tom Devine, and theoretical physicist Professor Peter Higgs.