Principal congratulates leadership award winners

Heriot-Watt University Principal, Professor Steve Chapman, was guest speaker at a major leadership development event hosted by the University recently.

The event was attended by almost 80 people from Higher Education institutions across Edinburgh.

The Edinburgh Higher Education Institutions Partnership (EHEIP) collaborate to deliver accredited leadership and management programmes from the Institute of Leadership and Management (ILM). 43 delegates received certificates at the event including 15 leaders from Heriot-Watt University.

Awards were achieved in Team Leading by Heriot-Watt University staff including: Thomas Archer (Hospitality Services), Claire Cameron (Converge Project TRS), Nick England (Security), Bob Gallacher (Security), Heather Hill (Hospitality Services), David Love (Security), Roger Mills (Hospitality Services), Steve Mowbray (MACS) and Ruth Smith (Hospitality Services SBC).

Awards were achieved in Leadership and Management Skills by Alex Campbell (EPS), Ross Campbell (Sports Centre), Angela Ditchfield (Executive Support), Gordon Duncan (Finance), Fiona Grant (SBE), Xuemin Hong (EPS), Christine Kellett (Hospitality Services SBC), Nick Scott (Finance), Ian Sutherland (Recruitment and Admissions) and Iain Young (Library Services).

Steve Chapman said: "I was delighted to speak at the event which was recognition of the hard work and effort made by all the delegates who have completed this worthwhile qualification."

The ILM programmes are run in collaboration with five other HE institutions across Edinburgh.