New Royal Society Fellows announced

The Rt Hon Lord Penrose, Chair of Heriot-Watt University Court, was among those made Ordinary Fellows by the the Royal Society of Edinburgh

The Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE) has announced the election of 48 new UK and International Fellows, four of whom are from Heriot-Watt University.

The following were made Ordinary Fellows: Professor of Physics, Gerald Buller; Professor of Autonomous Systems Engineering David Lane; Head of the Energy Academy, Patrick Corbett and George William Penrose, The Rt Hon Lord Penrose, Chair of Heriot-Watt University Court.

The 48 new Fellows add to the RSE's 1500-strong Fellowship of experts in the sciences, arts, humanities, the professions, industry and commerce, and were elected after a rigorous four-stage selection process culminating in a ballot of the entire Fellowship.

Each new Fellow of the RSE is recognised within his or her peer group as having achieved excellence within their discipline or profession. Once admitted to the RSE Fellows are encouraged to contribute to the aims and objectives of the society, including the provision of expert policy advice to Government and Parliament, outreach education programmes for young people, and public engagement events including conferences and discussion forums.

Lord Wilson of Tillyorn, the President of the RSE commented, "I am delighted to be able to announce the election of 48 new Fellows of the RSE €“ each will I am sure be a credit to the society and I look forward to welcoming them at the new Fellows' induction day in early May.

"I hope and expect that our new intake of Fellows will contribute actively to the work that the RSE undertakes in contributing to public policy development, engaging with the public and supporting research and innovation. These are key areas in promoting the core objectives of the Society - the advancement of learning and useful knowledge."