Heriot-Watt University is overseen and governed by a number of key personnel, Boards and committees.

The Chancellor

The Chancellor acts as a figurehead for the University and has a range of responsibilities including conferring the University’s degrees and other awards at the University’s graduation ceremonies.

The University Executive

The University Executive (UE) reports directly to the University Court and is the University's primary management decision making body.

Key management personnel

Those who have authority and responsibility for planning, directing and controlling the activities of the University: The Principal and Vice-Chancellor, the Vice-Principal & Deputy Vice-Chancellor and the Secretary of the University.

The Court

The Court is the governing body of the University and, as such, is responsible for overseeing the leadership, management and administration of the University and its activities.

The Senate

The Senate is the supreme academic body of the University with responsibility for the University’s academic work and standards, both in teaching and in research.

A-Z of University committees

An A-Z listing of all our University committees and their terms of reference.